Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    My Aquapure system is giving me some codes regarding a flow sensor service (172, 185, and 186) and when I press the temperature button I get a HH code which my installation manual says that "Input has exceeded Maximum Range" whatever that means. On another thread I noticed that someone else pressed some other control panel buttons that he read about in a troubleshooting manual they picked up online. I've not done any of that because I cannot find any manual but I did check the cleanliness of the sensor, made sure it was plugged in properly, and did some resetting of the buttons on the Tri-Sensor Adapter all of which provided no help. I have replaced the chlorine generator and it's sensor a couple of years ago. Any suggestions?
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

  2. Back To Top    #2
    ITR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    316

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Quote Originally Posted by Mandreake View Post
    My Aquapure system is giving me some codes regarding a flow sensor service (172, 185, and 186) and when I press the temperature button I get a HH code which my installation manual says that "Input has exceeded Maximum Range" whatever that means. On another thread I noticed that someone else pressed some other control panel buttons that he read about in a troubleshooting manual they picked up online. I've not done any of that because I cannot find any manual but I did check the cleanliness of the sensor, made sure it was plugged in properly, and did some resetting of the buttons on the Tri-Sensor Adapter all of which provided no help. I have replaced the chlorine generator and it's sensor a couple of years ago. Any suggestions?
    On Page 34 of the manual (http://www.jandy.com/~/media/zodiac/...h/h0325600.pdf), HH means the sensor is reading high salt. You might want to test with another kit to validate you have too much salt. If it's validated, you need to drain some water off and refill with fresh water.

    Section 7.2 and 7.3 have the error code explanations, which doesn't help much in this case since all three say "call a professional". Have you cleaned the cell recently?
    ----
    15' x 29' 10,300 gal w/ spa, IG-Plaster (Stonescapes Tropics Blue), 2spd WhisperFlo pump (1.5hp WFDS-26), Pentair Clean and Clear CC200 cartridge filter, Pentair MasterTemp 300BTU heater, Clear o3, RS-8 iAqualink

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Quote Originally Posted by ITR View Post
    On Page 34 of the manual (http://www.jandy.com/~/media/zodiac/...h/h0325600.pdf), HH means the sensor is reading high salt. You might want to test with another kit to validate you have too much salt. If it's validated, you need to drain some water off and refill with fresh water.

    Section 7.2 and 7.3 have the error code explanations, which doesn't help much in this case since all three say "call a professional". Have you cleaned the cell recently?
    That's odd. I am having to refill the pool about once every 5 to 7 days due to evaporation so I kind of doubt that the salt is high. Maybe the salt level could be high as it probably does not evaporate with the water. I'll have it checked to make sure. I also get this reading when I press the Temperature button. My book says on page 46 by Additional Letter Codes, under HH "Input has exceeded maximum range". I have never had a problem with any fuzz buildup on the cell interior. I did take the sensor off and cleaned it up but it really did not show any discoloration at all.
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Welcome to TFP!

    The first test that needs to be done is verify the salt level. The salt does not decrease with evaporation, it will slowly rise if the fill water has any salt in it.

    All of the error codes are indicating a bad sensor. See if this guide from InyoPools will help you troubleshoot the sensor, https://images.inyopools.com/cloud/d...rror-codes.pdf.

    If you need to replace the sensor, make sure you buy the latest sensor as there have been very few issues with that sensor.
    Last edited by ping; 06-29-2016 at 08:17 PM. Reason: found link from InyoPools
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Quote Originally Posted by ping View Post
    Welcome to TFP!

    The first test that needs to be done is verify the salt level. The salt does not decrease with evaporation, it will slowly rise if the fill water has any salt in it.

    All of the error codes are indicating a bad sensor. See if this guide from InyoPools will help you troubleshoot the sensor, https://images.inyopools.com/cloud/d...rror-codes.pdf.

    If you need to replace the sensor, make sure you buy the latest sensor as there have been very few issues with that sensor.

    I had the salt level checked today and it is at 3100 ppm. Does that troubleshooting guide in that pdf give me significant instructions on how to test the sensor?
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Quote Originally Posted by ping View Post
    Welcome to TFP!

    The first test that needs to be done is verify the salt level. The salt does not decrease with evaporation, it will slowly rise if the fill water has any salt in it.

    All of the error codes are indicating a bad sensor. See if this guide from InyoPools will help you troubleshoot the sensor, https://images.inyopools.com/cloud/d...rror-codes.pdf.

    If you need to replace the sensor, make sure you buy the latest sensor as there have been very few issues with that sensor.

    That pdf file appears to be used to test a AquaLink system. Mine is a APUREM AquaPure. I do not recall any front board or back board but one board. Here is a photo of my panel.

    IMG_4734.jpg
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Your board should have all the same test points for the sensor as it is explained in the guide from Inyo Pools.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Quote Originally Posted by ping View Post
    Your board should have all the same test points for the sensor as it is explained in the guide from Inyo Pools.
    Thanks for the information Ping, but my board is nothing like those found in that pdf file. I do have test points as shown in the image I've uploaded, but they are not labeled the same or in the same layout. To try that without some sort of clearer instructions would be a guess I think. I ordered a new sensor and board yesterday (the board was replaced last year about this time) and they should arrive tomorrow. I'll try the new sensor first and see what that does before swapping out the circuit board.
    Russ

    IMG_4735.jpg
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    The buttons are the H temp, R-temp and Salinity in the top middle right section of the board.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    I ran all the tests on the board and it passed them all exept one for the Cell Voltage and Current. It was supposed to be around 22 volts and I ended up with 11.5. The fix to that was "change the PIB". I changed the sensor and cord, tested it again and got the same reading although everything else operated normally, so I changed the board. Tested it again and still got 11.5. After that I put the 'old' board back in (less than one year old) and I am going with that. Goofy.
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Something looks odd about how your trisensor is connected to the board. Can you post pictures of your trisensors and how they're connected to the board?

    Is it working now?

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Owasso/Oklahoma
    Posts
    9

    Re: Service needed light and Error codes 172, 186, 186 and HH

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    Something looks odd about how your trisensor is connected to the board. Can you post pictures of your trisensors and how they're connected to the board?

    Is it working now?
    Seems to be working fine right now. The photo I posted had a connection with an older style sensor with 3 visible contacts with the water at the chlorine generator. That type required a Tri-sensor Adapter to be in place when connecting to the board. The newer style sensor which I just installed does not use that very small adapter panel which is probably what you are used to seeing.
    20,000 gallon gunite
    Aquapure, APUREM
    Jandy PureLink Apure1400
    Jandy Stealth pump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •