How to proceed? Newbie here :)

Test results:

FC: none detected
    TC: 0-0.5
    PH: less than 6.8 (very yellow)
    TA: 100
    Calcium: didn't test
    CYA: none detected

Water filled today from well. Kids played in short while. By 5:00pm, green bloom started. I've added 40oz of 8.25% bleach and running filter. Water immediately turned a rusty green color as soon as bleach added.

What should be our next steps? And when - tonight or morning?

Thanks so much. This is a great forum.
    Christine

2654 Gallon Intex 15ft round Easy Set pool (AG)
    Sand filter: Intex model SF15110
    Pool filled from well water (after water softener treatment)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to proceed? Newbie here :)

6/27/16 8:45pm

Update: I reread the pool math article and another article that said to get the PH correct before SLAMING. So.... using pool math I added 31 oz by wgt of borax. Hope I didn't screw anything up. Filter still running.

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!

With a small pool you can follow this process
    Pool School - Guide for Seasonal/Temporary Pools
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

4. Back To Top    #4

Update #2
    Thanks. I've added the stabilizer and vacuumed the pool. It definitely looks less green this morning. Should we test CYA again this evening or wait a while?

FC 5 maybe higher
    PH 8; Acid demand test was only 1 drop

I also added 2oz algeacide. Filter still running. Was planning on letting filter run all day and retest this evening. I expect to add more bleach then for overnight cleaning. I will use Pool Math again.

Thanks again.

5. Back To Top    #5

Quote Originally Posted by cteffenhart