Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    Hi all:
    I currently have a Dolphin DX4 that has done a great job cleaning my large L shaped pool. I have no trees within miles but lots of dust from neighboring farms and a whole lot of wind. Last summer at the end, we had a major storm and the power supply with the caddy was blown into the pool. Wouldn't turn on but after sitting a long time, got the power to go on. Great. Put the unit in this summer and the cleaner moved a few feet, climbed a wall and then stopped. I took the cleaner apart and there was nothing jamming it up. Screwed it all back together, took it out to try it out and now the power supply won't turn on. So, I don't know if there is 1. anything wrong with the actual cleaner and maybe it was the power supply the whole time or 2. if both the power supply and cleaner are toast. So. I am looking at replacing with either the Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or the 300i. I love the idea of the multi basket with the 300i but can't find a local dealer that has it and can't find much online. I need the cleaner before 2 parties next Saturday and Monday as well. So, any advice you all have would be great. I have a vinyl liner if that helps make recommendations. Thanks.
    Trish

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    139

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    My guess is the power supply is malfunctioning. Have you reached out to Maytronics to see what a me power supply would cost? Have you tried to take it to a Maytronics repair center to diagnose the problem?
    17k IG plaster pool+ spa, Stonescape mini-pebble midnight blue, marble coping, Trex and porcelain tile decking, Pentair Intelliflo VSP x 3 (filter, laminars and spa jets), Pentair IC40, Pentair MasterTemp 400, Pentair Quad DE 100, Pentair CC 150 for laminars, Intellibrite 5G LEDs, MagicStream Laminars x 3, Intellitouch i9+3 automation with Screenlogic2, IntellipH, Dolphin s300i, TFTest kit, SpeedStir

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ocgasman View Post
    My guess is the power supply is malfunctioning. Have you reached out to Maytronics to see what a me power supply would cost? Have you tried to take it to a Maytronics repair center to diagnose the problem?
    I took it to one of their authorized service dealers and they said they couldn't even work on it without starting a new dealer application form to even call them to get parts. AND they sell them! They said Maytronics is really difficult to deal with but their stuff works which is the only reason they sell it. It was weird that the power supply was working fine and when I went to troubleshooting on the site, it said if it moved a foot or more and then stopped, that it was most likely something jammed in the drive train. I opened it completely up and there isn't much to it and there wasn't anything. By the time I get it to a dealer, pay for service etc. I might be better just getting a new unit or might play with this one as a backup. I bought it on craigslist last year for only 400.00 so it lasted a good season. It's just frustrating.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    The robot is meant to be underwater, the power supply is not. If you got the power supply to turn on after being submerged that doesn't mean it was functioning properly. Odds are a new power supply will solve your problem.
    Geebot
    Chicago, IL
    30K gal, InGround Plaster Finish, 3.5'-9.5', Maytronics S300 Cleaner

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,669

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    This place has power supplies for around $200, Robotic Pool Cleaner Replacement Parts | Marina Pool Spa & Patio.

    I would say the power supply is the #1 cause of failure since it was blown into the pool. They are not meant to get wet much less submerged.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    Quote Originally Posted by ping View Post
    This place has power supplies for around $200, Robotic Pool Cleaner Replacement Parts | Marina Pool Spa & Patio.

    I would say the power supply is the #1 cause of failure since it was blown into the pool. They are not meant to get wet much less submerged.
    I would guess so as well except it did power the thing and move it and then stop. The troubleshooting page addressed that exact movement and said motor or something jammed. I hate to spend 200-300 on a power unit if it also needs a new motor etc. So at this point, we may play with this one and try to fix it but also get a new one. I appreciate the opinions on the power supply and will probably order one of those and see. But in the meantime, anyone have opinions of the 3 cleaners above and where people have found the 300i? Thanks.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    Quote Originally Posted by tricializ View Post
    I would guess so as well except it did power the thing and move it and then stop. The troubleshooting page addressed that exact movement and said motor or something jammed. I hate to spend 200-300 on a power unit if it also needs a new motor etc. So at this point, we may play with this one and try to fix it but also get a new one. I appreciate the opinions on the power supply and will probably order one of those and see. But in the meantime, anyone have opinions of the 3 cleaners above and where people have found the 300i? Thanks.
    The move and stop is not isolated to one issue. It could easily be the power unit. As for the s-series machines, I've had the S300 for a couple of months and couldn't be happier. It's much easier to clean than my previous Dolphin Diagnostic and has very effective coverage on the entire pool. It's also light enough for my wife not to complain.
    Geebot
    Chicago, IL
    30K gal, InGround Plaster Finish, 3.5'-9.5', Maytronics S300 Cleaner

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK (Tulsa)
    Posts
    276

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    From someone who has gone thru 3 power supplies for his Dolphin DX4.....

    This could easily be a faulty power supply unit, as ours had the exact same symptoms...cured with a new power supply. So far...since keeping the DX4 power supply/caddie covered, I've only had it happen a couple of times. (Obviously, I'm not too keen on Maytronics' power supplies for these units...you'd think they could be designed to remain outdoors in the elements).
    16 x 31, Approx. 12,000 Gal Freeform IG pool; Flagstone coping; Quartzscapes Super Blue plaster finish; Tanning ledge w/2 bubblers; 1 HP Pentair Whisperflo pump, Pentair sand filter; (2) Pentair Intellibrite LEDs w/controller; Easytouch8 w/IC-40 SWG; Salt finish concrete decking.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    Quote Originally Posted by mhosborn View Post
    From someone who has gone thru 3 power supplies for his Dolphin DX4.....

    This could easily be a faulty power supply unit, as ours had the exact same symptoms...cured with a new power supply. So far...since keeping the DX4 power supply/caddie covered, I've only had it happen a couple of times. (Obviously, I'm not too keen on Maytronics' power supplies for these units...you'd think they could be designed to remain outdoors in the elements).
    Exactly! I mean, they ARE for use by water. Ugh. Good to know about this. We have a pretty big pool and wouldn't mind a new unit and to keep this as a back up. So I will get on it. I wish I knew someone locally who had the same unit so I could try their power supply.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Can I ask where you purchased your 300? There are no local dealers who have them and the closest is 170 miles away (I have a message into them). Thanks.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    smforte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montgomery,Al
    Posts
    668

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)



    Can I ask where you purchased your 300? There are no local dealers who have them and the closest is 170 miles away (I have a message into them). Thanks.
    Im in AL and no one had the s300i locally. I just ordered the s300i from Atlas pools in Atlanta today. Should get it Wednesday.....so excited! May be worth giving them a call. I spoke to:

    Bryan Geraldino
    Atlas Pools
    770-451-3700 ext 211

    He was very helpful
    Montgomery, AL
    27000 16 x 36 IG, Vinyl, Grecian, Hayward Sand filter, 1 HP Pentair whisperflo motor, Aqua Genie filter not by choice, no extra jets, Dolphin s300i robotic cleaner,Taylor K 2006 test kit, speed-stir which I couldn't live without!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    139

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    To answer you question about a new robot, never used a Aquabot or Dolphin Premier, but love love love my s300i!
    17k IG plaster pool+ spa, Stonescape mini-pebble midnight blue, marble coping, Trex and porcelain tile decking, Pentair Intelliflo VSP x 3 (filter, laminars and spa jets), Pentair IC40, Pentair MasterTemp 400, Pentair Quad DE 100, Pentair CC 150 for laminars, Intellibrite 5G LEDs, MagicStream Laminars x 3, Intellitouch i9+3 automation with Screenlogic2, IntellipH, Dolphin s300i, TFTest kit, SpeedStir

  12. Back To Top    #12
    smforte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Montgomery,Al
    Posts
    668

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    Just got my Dolphin S300i an hour ago. He's in the pool and cleaning away. IM IN LOVE!


    Montgomery, AL
    27000 16 x 36 IG, Vinyl, Grecian, Hayward Sand filter, 1 HP Pentair whisperflo motor, Aqua Genie filter not by choice, no extra jets, Dolphin s300i robotic cleaner,Taylor K 2006 test kit, speed-stir which I couldn't live without!

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Aquabot Elite, Dolphin Premier or 300i (active 30i)

    I posted the original question and thought I would report back on my purchase and if I am happy etc. I ended up purchasing the Aquabot Elite. The top loading filter cartridges and the longer warranty than the 300i was the decision for me. I have a large L shaped pool (exact dimensions unsure of but 40+' on the long part of the L). At first i wasn't sure that I was going to keep the unit (bought it on poolbots.com and could exchange or return within 30 days. At first it would take several cycles to get my entire pool clean despite setting it in different areas. I kept with it though and I am happy to say that I couldn't be happier with this pool bot. It seems to have "learned" my pool and my pool has never looked so good.

    Things I love:
    Cartridges top loading for cleaning.
    First of all, I don't have a tree for quite a distance as I live adjacent to farmland on 2 sides and acreages on the others So I have to clean these almost never. In fact, I have never filled them up but clean them occasionally just to do it. They snap out and back in and you can even take them out while the unit is in the water. They are also clear plastic on top so you can see if you have debris in the filters.
    That alone and not having to deal with stuffing in large leaf bags is enough to make me love it. They open fully up so washing out is a breeze and you get every bug easily out of there (my only real issues are dirt and bugs).

    Anti-swivel cord.
    Haven't had a twisted cord yet. Why all bots don't incorporate this is beyond me. It's not like it's difficult technologically.

    Control Panel
    Very easy to figure out and you can set a cleaning schedule if you want or type of cleaning etc.

    Wall climbing
    Does a great job climbing and cleaning.

    Cleaning ability
    My pool is crystal clear and gets every corner. I would say it could do the stairs better but I'm being a little picky there.

    Overall, the salesman from Poolbots was very helpful in talking me through the pros and cons and getting one to me quickly. I know there aren't lot of reviews on this particular unit so thought I would put it out there.
    Trish

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •