Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: swg will not keep up

1. Back To Top    #1

spring hill fl

swg will not keep up

My salt water system just will not keep up and I have to add chlorine weekly. I am at about 50 on cya which is a little low I know but still seems I should be able to keep up. I even returned my old swg for a new one thinking it was defective but new one is the same. I keep the pool spotless from debris and even run boost cycles which will raise it some but right after that when it goes to normal cycles I loose my chlorine in a day or 2. please help I would hate to goto a chlorine pool.
    Total Noob!
    Spring Hill, FL.
    5455 gal AG Vinyl pool
    635t Intex filter (cartridge)
    Krystal Clear 7110 SWG

2. Back To Top    #2

Medicine Hat, Alberta

Re: swg will not keep up

I have had the same problem with my Intex SWG cell, especially when pool temp and bather load increase. This sent me back to pool school, once again, after a bit more reading I adjusted my CYA up to the 70-80 range recommended and it now is purring along nicely
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart
    12.5K Gal pool, AG Intex 24 X 52"
    19" Sand Filter/1 hp pump
    Aqua Trol SWG
    Solar heat coupled with a SS heat exchanger/Hot Water Tank
    Hayward DV-4000 suction pool cleaner "Freddie"

3. Back To Top    #3
    Amelia Island, FL

For SWG plaster, 60-80 is recommended. If your FL pool is uncovered (no pool cage) then closer to 80 may be best.
    COMPLETED BUILD THREAD - 15'x29' rectangular offset shotcrete pool; 14,100 gal; 5'x7' raised spa with 400k btu fire feature; 7' spillover; 25' leuder stone raised bond wall w/waterfall; Pentair SWG; Pentair VS (pool); Pentair 3/4hp feature pump; 1hp spa blower; Pentair Cartridge filter; Pentair “Easy Touch 8” wireless; Dolphin Oasis Z5 robot; Solar Hydronics iSwim solar panels; Mansard Screen Enclosure; walnut travertine deck; 1 very happy kiddo.

4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad
    DFW, TX