Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Slamming with DE filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Slamming with DE filter

This is my first time ever using a de filter. right now im thinking it might have been a mistake....

took the cover off and the pool was completely green so i researched a little and found out this slamming method and thats what im doing. i am not having problems with the slamming part. well i dont think i am. what i am having concerns with is the de filter. i backwashed it today added more de and within an hour the pressure is going up 7-10 psi. (never higher than 10psi) which according the the filter im supposed to backwash again and add more de. if i just bump it the pressure will climb back up within a few mins. if this keeps up ill be spending hundreds of dollars in de.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Slamming with DE filter

Welcome to TFP!!!

Yup, that is the downside of a DE filter, they are very good at filtering

If you have a recirculate option, you could do that until all the algae is dead and then filter it out.

Note we recommend backwashing when the pressure rises 20-25% over the clean pressure.

These might be useful:
    Use and Care of DE Filters
    DE Filter Cleaning Tutorial

Please add your location (City, State or City, Country) to your profile and pool details to your signature as described HERE as it will help us help you.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi Brett,
    DE filters are very efficient. They will clog quickly if you get algae.