Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    My pool runs automatically through the night on spillover mode for about six hours. Is there any way I can configure the PS-4 to change that to run for *just* pool mode for the majority of that time (so the pop-up cleaning system can do its thing), and then spillover for a short period of time just to clean/filter the spa, and integrate the cleaned pool water with the spa water, etc.? The only options I see in the PS-4 menu are for spillover or spa only. I'm thinking there must be a pool only mode, and I'm missing it somehow. I read through the manual for the PS-4, but I can't see anything specific to this.

    Any help would be very appreciated. Thanks!
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    No ideas?

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    It depends on how your plumbing is setup for the spillover. Post pictures of the valves in spillover mode and spa mode.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Thanks for the reply. Here are the pics you requested...

    Splliover:



    Spa:



    - - - Updated - - -

    Oh and I know it's a mess. That area is a leaf/garbage magnet when the wind blows. Hard to keep it clean.
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Your return valve did not turn ... I did not expect that.

    There should be a pool mode.

    Try this: put it is spill over mode, and the flip the switch on the return actuator so it rotates and confirm that is the operating setting that you want. (Remember to flip the switch back when you are done checking).

    There must be a setting in the PS-4 to change this. Just need to look int he manual to find it.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Thanks. If I flip the switch on the return valve while in spillover mode, the valve does turn, and it then runs in pool-only mode, which is what I'd prefer for the majority of it's overnight run. The motorized valve does work as it should. I'm guessing it's simply a configuration issue with the PS-4, I just don't know how to change it.
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Looking in the manual, pushing the Pool/Spa/Spillover button should either toggle between just Pool only / Spa only. OR . Toggle through Pool / Spa / Spa-spillover if the spillover option is turned on (somewhere, still looking).

    Can you describe your setup a little more?
    You have an in-floor system? Is one of the zones just in the spa? (that is how my previous pool was). If that is the case, I agree you should only have pool mode which runs the in-floor system and rotates through the zones and the spa zone will keep the spa chemistry circulated and will spill over only when that zone is on. And then have a spa mode that only runs the spa when you want to use it.

    Have you downloaded the manuals from Hayward?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Found it:
    If you go into the Configuration Menu, press the <> buttons to scroll to "Pool/Spa Config" and press the + to enter that menu. Press the <> buttons to scroll to "Spa Spillover" and press the +/- button to disable it.

    See if that works for you. I am not sure if you may also have to change some timers.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    I am actually looking at the manual now. It seems to be a setting in the configuration menu that is wrong. At least that's my uneducated guess. lol

    I do have a pop-up system. The three main options on the PS-4 are Pool, Spa, or Spillover. All three work as they should, so I'm guessing the valve actuators are set correctly. As it's set now, the system turns on (in spillover mode) at 1:00 AM until 7:00 AM on high speed, and then for two hours on low speed. As you say, I think running for the majority of that time in just pool mode, so the pop-ups could do their thing, and then for a shorter period of time in spillover mode, just to filter the spa, is where I should be.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Found it:
    If you go into the Configuration Menu, press the <> buttons to scroll to "Pool/Spa Config" and press the + to enter that menu. Press the <> buttons to scroll to "Spa Spillover" and press the +/- button to disable it.

    See if that works for you. I am not sure if you may also have to change some timers.
    Thank you! I will check as soon as I get home, which should be mid-afternoon. I'll let you know how it goes.
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Spill over will not filter the spa, it will just pump water into the spa which will then spill over. If you have an in-floor zone in the spa, then I do not think there is any reason to ever operate in Spill over mode.

    Did you see me post above about where to disable the spillover mode?

    Alternatively, it is likely you could leave the spillover mode enabled and then maybe need to change the timers to tell it to run in pool mode and not spillover mode.

    - - - Updated - - -

    OH!! The next menu item after "Spa Spillover" is "Filter Operation" ... likely you just need to change that to "Pool Only" instead of "Spa Spillover" ... and you can leave the spillover enabled.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    In spillover mode, it would be pulling filtered water from the pool and feeding it to the spa, wouldn't it? That would in essence filter the spa? I don't have popups in the spa itself, no.
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Ah, that is going to be a problem that you have no zone in the spa. You are correct that at least some part of the day you need to operate in spillover mode to keep the chemistry balanced. I am not clear on how you can run in pool only mode for a good part of the day and then only briefly in spill over mode.

    One option would be change the return valve position a little in pool only mode so that a little water is directed to the spa at all times, this means a little water would be spilling at all times.

    With the setup right now, is the in-floor every running? I can not see how it would be.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  12. Back To Top    #12
    mikemass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Northern Howell, NJ
    Posts
    484

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    One option would be change the return valve position a little in pool only mode so that a little water is directed to the spa at all times, this means a little water would be spilling at all times.
    I have the Goldline PS-8 exact same as OP's system except more AUX ports. "Pool Mode" is exactly what you just described above. i.e. when in Pool Mode the return valve is not fulled opened, not fully closed. It's at a 45 deg angle to the open/close configuration.
    25 + year pool owner. Current pool (going on 11th year) - 38K gallon in ground Gunite/White Plaster, Spillover Spa, Hayward Cartridge Filter, Hayward 450k BTU NG Heater, Hayward Goldline Aqua Logic control with T-Cell-15 Salt Water Cell, Dolphin Explorer.
    You Need: Bleach, a A Test Kit & a Bookmark to "Pool School". Now what's your question?

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    The reason I wanted to initially see the pictures was to see if there was a dedicated spillover pipe. Many setups have a Tee off of the pool return and has a shutoff valve and check valve which is then connected to the spa return. So even when the pool/spa valve is 100% to the pool, the spill over pipe allows you to direct some flow to the spa. Without that bypass pipe, you have to just set the pool/spa valve to not be set to 100% pool for pool mode.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Actually .... what happens if in pool mode, you partially open that valve to the right of the actuated valve? That has a check valve I think and could be a spa bypass.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    With the setup right now, is the in-floor every running? I can not see how it would be.
    The popups only work if I run the pool only. Just hitting the "pool" button on the PS-4 automatically diverts the returns to the popups.

    Here's the thing... When we just bought the house in November. I never owned a pool prior to that. Long story short, it WAS running in popup mode through the night back then. I know that because the sound of the plumbing in popup mode can be heard in the bedroom, and on my first night sleeping there, it sounded like I had a critter in the attic. So I know for sure it was working somehow. And, I'm not positive, but I'm pretty sure it ran in spillover mode for a brief period in the AM.

    I'm so confused! lol
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Just got home to check...

    If I disable spa spillover, I can no longer even choose that as a manual option from the control board. That's no good. Filter Operation was already set to Pool Only.
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    I wonder if the toggle switch on the return actuator got flipped? If you manually flip it, see if the spa only, pool only, and spillover are acting as expected.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Oh, what does that valve by the actuated on on the pool side do? If you open that and water goes to the spa, then you could actually get rid of spillover mode.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    I wonder if the toggle switch on the return actuator got flipped? If you manually flip it, see if the spa only, pool only, and spillover are acting as expected.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Oh, what does that valve by the actuated on on the pool side do? If you open that and water goes to the spa, then you could actually get rid of spillover mode.
    If I flip the switch, then it does not work as it should.

    I do think I got it back to how it was when we moved in. The valve to the right of the return actuated valve does feed the spa. After just tinkering with it, it jogged my memory. When we moved in, it was spilling over, but there was no cavitation in the spa. That's because it must NOT have been feeding the main spa lines, but the floor feed in the spa (therefore it must have been in Pool Only mode, and feeding that floor feed). Spa Spillover must have been disabled, and that valve was cracked to allow a low flow of water to feed the spa and spill into the pool, therefore addressing the chemical balance concern, but only taking very little pressure away from the popups. So that's how I have it set now: Spa Spillover disabled, and slightly feeding the spa floor feed to circulate spa water. I also have it set to run on Spa Only mode for an hour after pool filtration ends, just to assist in cleaning the spa, and also pumping balanced, clean water through all of the spa feed and return water lines. How's that sound?

    I have it set to run at high speed for six hours on Pool Mode, and one hour for dedicated spa mode. With the Phoenix heat, and size of my pool, does that sound adequate?

    Also, thanks to all of you for your input. It definitely helped!
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

  18. Back To Top    #18
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Glad we got it straightened out

    Run time just depends on dirt load ... so if 6 hours keeps your pool clean enough for you, then that is fine.
    I think 1 hour for the spa mode is WAY overkill ... think about the volume of the spa vs. the volume of the pool. Likely 5-10 minutes is plenty of time for spa mode to suck some of the dirt out.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Avondale, AZ
    Posts
    87

    Re: Changing PS-4 Automation Control configuration

    Thanks. I'll give some of that time back to the pool then
    Approx 25k gallon PebbleTec in-ground diving pool and attached raised (10 person?) spa, with spillover and waterfall.
    Hayward AquaLogic PS-4 control board, Hayward SP3400VSP Ecostar pump, Hayward C5520CP cartridge filter, Hayward H400FDN 400k BTU NG heater

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •