Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Getting started after new liner

1. Back To Top    #1

Getting started after new liner

New liner is in and pool is almost filled with new crystal clear tap water!

I just got Tf-100 kit and was wondering when and what tests I should do to get started?

Thanks for any help as I am new to this method. (before liner change we used Pristine Blue)

Erin
    25+ year old inground pool , 16x32 21,100 gallons, new vinyl liner and sand filter. Aquabot pool cleaner.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Getting started after new liner

Test everything except CYA-----there isn't any in tap water. Have fun!
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

ok so...

PH was somewhere between 7.2 and 7.5-I was having difficulty distinguishing between the shades
    CL- 0
    CYA-0
    TA- 30
    didn't run hardness as I know we have really soft water and with vynal it doesn't really matter, right?

Also, just curious as to why the kids kept complaining they smelled like chlorine and immediately took a shower after jumping in if the chlorine test was 0? What were they smelling?

Thanks!
    Erin
    25+ year old inground pool , 16x32 21,100 gallons, new vinyl liner and sand filter. Aquabot pool cleaner.

4. Back To Top    #4

CC from your tap water. It is a common misconception that people have about what chlorine smells like in a poorly maintained or public pool full of CC, it is the CC the smells and makes your eyes burn especially in indoor pools. Properly maintained pools never smell like that even with very high chlorine levels.