Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PH results change every time I test

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Pittsburgh/PA
    Posts
    52

    PH results change every time I test

    I am not getting consistent results. Did a test 8.0. Did one right after 7.6. One right after 7.2.

    Last night did one 7.0. Then right after 8.0.

    ???
    27' Above Ground Pool.
    Vinyl Liner
    Cartridge Filter
    TAYLOR TECHNOLOGIES INC K-2006 TEST KIT COMP CHLORINE FAS-DPD


  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,078

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    Practice. Get another's opinion. There is no better test unless you are willing to invest hundreds. It gets easier but you have to practice.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Pittsburgh/PA
    Posts
    52

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    Well, they were consistent before. Just like 2 weeks ago they started being inconsistent. And, the acid base demand tests support the inconsistent results.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,078

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    Did a test 8.0. Did one right after 7.6. One right after 7.2.
    So your pH is changing within minutes between tests? That's not really possible unless you are dripping a gallon of acid in the pool each time. You don't say how big your pool is but pH cannot change like that unless you are manipulating it in some way.

    I assume your pH reagent is reasonably fresh and has not been laying in the sun.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Pittsburgh/PA
    Posts
    52

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    Do test. Get 8.0. Immediately drop out sample. Get test. 7.0. Drop out sample. Do test. 7.8.

    Etc.

    I did notice some weird stuff when I retested last time.

    Somehow my CYA rose to 70 from 50. TA was 100 from 70 (prob just ph adj).

    FC 7
    TA 100
    CYA 70
    PH 7.8

    (Last test)

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,078

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    Someone else may have an idea.....I am clueless.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Troy IL
    Posts
    465

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    Does the water level of your sample matter for pH measurements? I was under the impression it didn't really matter that much, but it would be the only test in the kit that didn't need a perfectly sized sample.

    But if my theory was correct, I wouldn't think a small variance in sample size would NOT cause you to get 8 one minute and 7 another.

    One other shot: do you happen to have another test kit of some kind and have used the bottle for it in your Taylor K2006 kit comparator tube? I have a Taylor k-2005 or something or other, and once used the phenol red from that kit, and got a way higher pH reading. But I quickly realized my error.

    17,500 gallon IG Vinyl
    Pentair Tagelus TA60D Sand filter
    Pentair Challenger 1.5HP pump CFII N1 1.5A
    Taylor K-2006-A, Stenner 45MPHP10 auto chlorine feed

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad JVTrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    5,079

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    I have never experienced any variance in my K-1000 test (that's just the part number for the color match blocks and reagents that come with the TF-100 and K-2006). I try to fill consistently to the line mark but I am routinely a little high, a little low from time to time. In fact this week I was starting to get "worried" because every time I've tested in the last 3 weeks my pH has been getting the same shade, just more yellow/orange than the 7.5 color.
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir
    Isolated Spa - 345 Gallons

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Troy IL
    Posts
    465

    Re: PH results change every time I test

    I just looked and what I have is the K1001. The phenol red that comes with it is different than the one that comes with the K2006. As are the comparator tubes.

    I kind of like having both kit tubes, because the kit from the K1001 has most of the measurements that are in between what the 2006 reads. When I feel like I'm in between readings on the 2006, I pull out the comparator tube for the 1001 and can usually find an exact match on it's color scale.

    17,500 gallon IG Vinyl
    Pentair Tagelus TA60D Sand filter
    Pentair Challenger 1.5HP pump CFII N1 1.5A
    Taylor K-2006-A, Stenner 45MPHP10 auto chlorine feed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •