Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Final stages of clearing my pool just can not get it clear

1. Back To Top    #1

Final stages of clearing my pool just can not get it clear

So I'm a new pool owner with the house I purchased about 2 years ago. I did not open the pool last year and let it sit covered and am now opening it. I'm in the final stages of clearing the water out. It's an 18ft above ground. Leslie's pool supply keeps selling me all these chemicals and nothing is working. I scrub it almost every day and still can't see the bottom. However the water is clear.
    Fc 5
    Ch 250
    Ta 110
    Ph 7.0 ( should be fixed just added chem)
    Pho 100

Please help thank you to anyone who can

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Final stages of clearing my pool just can not get it clear

I'm not an expert but I can tell you this is the right place to get the correct advice for crystal clear water in your pool. First things first, please read the "Pool School" section of the this website. The "Getting Started" section will describe how to insert a signature panel in your posts with all the data about your pool. Additionally, you MUST read the "ABC's of Pool Chemistry".

I'm a bit confused because you state that "...still can't seem the bottom. However the water is clear." Those two statements don't make sense. If you cannot see the bottom, than the water IS NOT clear.

First things first, buy a good test kit and stop going to the pool store! The TF-100 or Taylor K-2006 kits are the ONLY recommended test kits. (I highly recommend the TF-100 as they guarantee fresh chemicals. Here's the website TFTestkits.net)

There will be other experts chiming in soon. Hang in there!