Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    63

    Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

    Question for you knowledgable folks!

    My receptacle where the pump plugs in, does not have a normal GFCI outlet -- Meaning there is no push button "test" option on it. It is one of the twist lock plugs.

    So is it a GFCI receptacle with no test button, or is the GFCI most likely at the panel?
    12,000 gallon AG pool | Hayward 1HP pump | Hayward Perflex DE filter (I hate DE) | Taylor K-2006 Test Kit

  2. Back To Top    #2

    RonsPlc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Gaylesville, AL
    Posts
    360

    Re: Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

    I know that my GFCI is in the bathroom, and my outdoor outlets are tied into it.
    I didn't trust that setup 100%, so I replaced my breaker for that circuit with a GFCI type as well.
    If you look at your breaker panel, you can tell if there is a GFCI breaker in it, they look a lot different from a regular breaker.
    14600 gal Intex 24' Round 52" deep AG Pool (Heavily Modified)
    200lb sand filter w/2 speed 1.5/0.5hp pump
    Stenner 45MHP10 Liquid Chlorine (well... bleach) Injector. Borates added.
    K-2006 test kit w/Speedstir
    Pool School - PoolMath - HIGHLY Recommended Test Kits

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    63

    Re: Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

    Quote Originally Posted by RonsPlc View Post
    I know that my GFCI is in the bathroom, and my outdoor outlets are tied into it.
    I didn't trust that setup 100%, so I replaced my breaker for that circuit with a GFCI type as well.
    If you look at your breaker panel, you can tell if there is a GFCI breaker in it, they look a lot different from a regular breaker.
    Yeah there's definitely a GFCI breaker.

    just not sure if it needs to be on the receptacle too?
    12,000 gallon AG pool | Hayward 1HP pump | Hayward Perflex DE filter (I hate DE) | Taylor K-2006 Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Swansea MA
    Posts
    62

    Re: Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

    There is no need for 2 GFI's.
    24 ft round AG 12,700 gal. vinyl
    Doughboy Sequel II Rotary DE filter
    TF-100 test kit. 1st full season

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Smartjack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Naperville, Il
    Posts
    124

    Re: Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

    If you have a GFCI breaker, there is no need for an outlet too.

    Your setup is fine.
    Bruce - (The SmartJack was an invention of mine, and became my nickname)
    Fox Pool 40x27 IG Vinyl, Lagoon Shape, 27,000 gallons, Hayward 300,000 BTU heater
    Hayward 1.5 HP, 2-Speed SuperPump, with Hayward C4025 Cartridge Filter
    Polaris C-310 ORP Controller, modified to pump Liquid Chlorine
    Hayward Phantom, and Aquabot Turbo T-Jet automatic pool cleaners, Taylor K-2006

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Is GFCI at the receptacle or the breaker?

    First have you looked at the panel and found the beaker for your pool?

    Second, does that breaker have a test button on it?

    Third, have you tested it.

    Fourth, when depressed does the test button trip the circuit breaker and move the throw switch to the middle position on the breaker?


    If all those are true then you have GFCI protection on the circuit.

    Generally you don't want to run GFCIs in series in a circuit.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •