Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hagerstown, MD
    Posts
    30

    Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

    Hello everyone,

    Have a question. I just purchased a new Hayward SP15922S Power-Flo Matrix 120v 2 speed pump. I am wondering if I can use 2 plugs instead of the 1 to control the 2 speeds from my Intermatic PE153 Digital Timer.

    See attached picture for pump wiring diagram.


    Thanks again for everyones support!

    -Marvin
    Attached Images Attached Images
    24' x 54" Aqua Leader Influence Above Ground Pool
    Hayward Pro Series S180T Sand Filter w/Zeobrite
    Hayward Power-Flo Martix SP1592FP Pump
    Lamotte ColorQ Pro 7 Test Kit
    Aquabot Pool Rover Jr. Pool Cleaner
    All equipment is hard plumbed

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

    No, I do not think you can do that.

    Is there a reason you do not want to leave it on low all the time and just manually change it to high when needed?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hagerstown, MD
    Posts
    30

    Re: Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

    No particular reason other, was just curious if I could. To me it looks like I can simply wire one line (plug) to each of the terminal points #3 and #4 however, seeking advise from others way more advanced than me

    I could simply flip the switch every day or as needed but figured I would like to use the fancy new timer i just installed today to do the switching for me.

    -Marvin
    24' x 54" Aqua Leader Influence Above Ground Pool
    Hayward Pro Series S180T Sand Filter w/Zeobrite
    Hayward Power-Flo Martix SP1592FP Pump
    Lamotte ColorQ Pro 7 Test Kit
    Aquabot Pool Rover Jr. Pool Cleaner
    All equipment is hard plumbed

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

    An Intermatic T 106 timer is designed for two speed pumps. You may want to return your fancy timer and get one of those.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hagerstown, MD
    Posts
    30

    Re: Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

    The Intermatic P153 digital timer seems fairly nice regarding the modes it allows you to set up across 3 independent circuits. Not sure how it compares to the T-106 though.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    24' x 54" Aqua Leader Influence Above Ground Pool
    Hayward Pro Series S180T Sand Filter w/Zeobrite
    Hayward Power-Flo Martix SP1592FP Pump
    Lamotte ColorQ Pro 7 Test Kit
    Aquabot Pool Rover Jr. Pool Cleaner
    All equipment is hard plumbed

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Can I re-wire and use 2 plugs

    So you want mode 7

    But you need to run an extra wire from the timer to the motor.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •