Newbie here, need help getting started!

Jun 17, 2016
TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello all, we are picking up an Intex pool this afternoon. Probably a 24x52, we think. The plans are to give an above ground a test run for a few years before we put in an in-ground. We've never had a pool, so I need some help getting started. I have read through Pool School a few times, but need some advice on getting started. In the long run, what is going to be the cheapest and best, salt or chlorine water? I have 2 kids, ages 8 and 6, and I want to be able to keep the water the safest as possible. I sure do appreciate this site, as it looks like a wealth of knowledge!

Thanks!

A SWG can cost slightly more than using liquid chlorine, however, it is very convenient and you don't have to worry about buying bleach every week and adding bleach every day.

I strongly suggest getting a SWG, however, the size of the SWG should be two to three times the size of the pool otherwise you will have to run your pump longer to reach the necessary FC levels.

I would order up one of the recommended test kits. Pool School - Test Kits Compared TF-100 is the best value. TFTestkits.net If you get a SWG, get the salt test. The speedstir makes testing a breeze.

Read up on Pool School. Ask questions here and we'll help you get your water adjusted. Do not get water tested at the pool store and don't buy any chems from the pool store.