Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie here, need help getting started!

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie here, need help getting started!

Hello all, we are picking up an Intex pool this afternoon. Probably a 24x52, we think. The plans are to give an above ground a test run for a few years before we put in an in-ground. We've never had a pool, so I need some help getting started. I have read through Pool School a few times, but need some advice on getting started. In the long run, what is going to be the cheapest and best, salt or chlorine water? I have 2 kids, ages 8 and 6, and I want to be able to keep the water the safest as possible. I sure do appreciate this site, as it looks like a wealth of knowledge!

Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Newbie here, need help getting started!

A SWG can cost slightly more than using liquid chlorine, however, it is very convenient and you don't have to worry about buying bleach every week and adding bleach every day.

I strongly suggest getting a SWG, however, the size of the SWG should be two to three times the size of the pool otherwise you will have to run your pump longer to reach the necessary FC levels.

I would order up one of the recommended test kits. Pool School - Test Kits Compared TF-100 is the best value. TFTestkits.net If you get a SWG, get the salt test. The speedstir makes testing a breeze.

Read up on Pool School. Ask questions here and we'll help you get your water adjusted. Do not get water tested at the pool store and don't buy any chems from the pool store.
    Karen
    33K IG w spa plaster, Pentair 1HP Whisperflo, DE Filter, SWG CircuPool RJ-60, Dolphin Triton Plus, Raypak Dig 336K BTU, TF-100.
    Pool Math Chlorine / CYA Chart SLAM - Shock Level And Maintain
    2017 replaster/retile

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide