Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: To bond or not to bond... confused

1. Back To Top    #1

Smile To bond or not to bond... confused

Hi there everyone, I am new to this but I've had this house with a pool for 2 years, so i am a pool novice. i just bought a Hayward Super Pump VS 1.5hp Variable Speed Pump. I am grounding it to the power supply as per standard practice. But I am not sure what to do with the bonding aspect of this pool equipment.
    I did notice the old Hayward pump; although grounded it was not bonded to anything and has been like this for many many years. My pool equipment is in a shed at least 14 feet away from the pool. The only metal part of my pool (which i have no access to) is the aluminum coping on top of which the stone coping is laid and glued, so completely covered.

Do I still need to somehow bond the pump?

Khreeo
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    16x32 Inground Chlorine Pool. Vinyl. Hayward Super Pump VS Variable Speed 1.5HP. Gas Heater

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: To bond or not to bond... confused

Have you looked everywhere on the equipment pad for a bond wire (bare copper) sticking out of the ground / concrete?
    16x32 IG Vinyl, 13,000 Gals. Hayward S-244T sand filter, SP2810X15 pump
    (1.5 HP motor) Raypak PR266AEN (266k btu) gas heater. TF-100 Test Kit.
    Dolphin E10 Cleaning Robot.

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by Khreeo View Post
    Hi there everyone, I am new to this but I've had this house with a pool for 2 years, so i am a pool novice. i just bought a Hayward Super Pump VS 1.5hp Variable Speed Pump. I am grounding it to the power supply as per standard practice. But I am not sure what to do with the bonding aspect of this pool equipment.