'Slippery Water' and TA Question

Jul 4, 2014
New Orleans
Hey All,

First, let me say what a great site this is. I've been using the TFP method for my Intex pool for three years and it's been great --- real stress-free. An ounce of prevention is truly worth more than a pound of cure...

This year I moved to a new place and got a new replacement for my 14' Intex AGP. I replaced it with an identical one since the old had sprung leaks in the move and that size works for us, with kids being so little.

I opened the pool using the same TFP method I have in the past and don't have any real problems that I can tell, except my water feels just really 'slippery'...not slimy exactly but different than I'm used to, and is leaving my hands feeling a little sticky once it starts to dry. It's never done this before, but I can think of a difference now; previously I had very hard water in a city, and now I've moved out a ways and while I'm still on city water it's *very* soft.

Does this seem normal?

For reference, I'm using a Taylor 2006 test kit (refills ordered from this site and shipped fast!) and am shooting to meet the TFP recommended levels for a SWG system with sand pump that has been fully backwashed (though I've not yet opened it up and used the magical hose method...)

My levels are pretty spot-on except for alkalinity, which started out at 120 and even after reducing Ph and aerating many times this week with a PVC fountain I made, just refuses to fall below 90. Could that be any issue?

Thanks in advance

It just sounds like soft water to me. My TA has been much higher than that for a while. Use your Taylor kit to do the calcium hardness test, and add calcium if you don't like it. I'm personally trying to add borates to my pool to make the water softer or "slippier" because we like it. But to do that, I have to get my TA down. I was at 250ppm, aiming for 60. I hope I don't get stuck at 90.

Welcome to TFP (officially, 3 years lurking, I love it :))