Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    This is not a new pool.

    We have exposed aggregate that is rough as a cheese grater. I'm thinking of renting a concrete grinder to just knock off the worst of it, certainly not polish it or make it slippery.

    Home Depot rents a concrete grinder that will do jobs like this.

    Does anyone have any experience doing something like this?

    Thanks in advance!
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I have my doubts you will like the result. Concrete grinders are not designed for fine work and getting a consistent look over a large area may be difficult.

    If you have a small area that's not noticeable experiment there and see what you get.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  3. Back To Top    #3
    twinkiesmommy2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Cypress
    Posts
    1,679

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    Can you polish instead of grind?


    Started 5/31/16. 38'x23', 618 sqft., <14,000 gallons, 8' spa.Travertine coping. Raised beam w/3 sheers. Large sunshelf w/3 bubblers. SWG IC40, Pentair VSP, 520 cartridge, color LED lights, Easy-touch, screen logic, Maytronics S300i robot, and Wet Edge Prism Matrix finish (Deep Sea Blue with Indigo plaster). Build Thread: Another in Texas - Cypress Texas | MUD District | HOA Approval | Great Escapes Pools

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    Quote Originally Posted by twinkiesmommy2009 View Post
    Can you polish instead of grind?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Can you give more details when you can?
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    And are you sure you do not just have calcium buildup on the aggregate making it feel rough?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I don't know, actually. I'm thinking of trying an electric palm sander to see what happens.

    What kind of sand paper do I use?
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    Sand paper will last about 5 minutes on concrete if that. You need diamond coated. I don't know if you can buy it for a palm sander.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I'll figure something out. More of a test to see if the roughness is caused by deposits, or native roughness.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  9. Back To Top    #9
    philboyj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    326

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I suggest talking to a local pool plaster company if they have any ideas. Chances are they have tried many things or have fixed jobs where a customer has unsuccessfully tried to remedy a plaster issue.
    Geometric pool with all Pentair equipment. Raised spa - 18" with Artic Lagoon 1" glass tiles. 3HP VS Pump, 2 skimmers, 6 returns, IC40 Salt system, Easy Touch 8 with LED color light in pool and spa. 1200 sqft of Marble White Pavers decking in Versailles pattern. Tiling and coping almost completed, Indigo Blue Prism Matrix plaster. Pool Build Thread: Houston (Katy) Pool Build - Started April 2016

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    It's not the plaster, it's the exposed aggregate walking surface surrounding the pool.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Pool Tool's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Western Chicago Area, IL
    Posts
    754

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    It must be the SWG making the rocks harder!! Just kidding, how large of an area are you talking about? You could polish it "a little" and it if gets too smooth you could re-etch the concrete with MA to prevent it from being to slippery.
    16' x 32' (21100 gal), vinyl, 1.5 hp Hayward SuperPump,
    Tagelus TA60/60D Sand Filter, Raypak 399K Digital Heater, TF-100

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    It's only about 400 SF. I'm going to try a palm sander on one section where it's fairly hidden.

    I'll do a patch today or tomorrownand see what happens.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  13. Back To Top    #13


    TFP Guide

    SuzfromTexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    3,203

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    Oh my goodness, I've been reading this thread thinking you meant the pebble plaster! I couldn't imagine draining the pool, etc. I wonder if there is a thick sealer that would help smooth out the feel? But that would probably make more of a mess with pealing over time. I'm curious to see what you come up with. Good luck!

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuckiechan View Post
    It's not the plaster, it's the exposed aggregate walking surface surrounding the pool.
    Suz~Cypress area~ 2015 pool build. 23K gallons. IG swcg system. 35'x18'; 573sf; 104' perim; depth 4'-7'. Bubblers, sheer descents, 7' spa. Jandy: color LEDs; 2HP 2sp pump; 1HP 2sp pump; spa pump; 580 cartridge; 400K BTU; Dolphin M500; PS8; Inline chlorinator not used; Aqua Pure 1400. Blue Granite Sheen. Travertine deck. Lightstreams Peacock Blue TF-100, K-1766, SpeedStir

  14. Back To Top    #14
    borjis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    2,055

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I wonder about the sealer as well.

    I too had a rough deck (old concrete) and was leaning toward a thick epoxy paint or possible re-coat of a thin
    layer of concrete to deal with it, but probably not what the poster would want to do.
    16x32 IG Vinyl, 13,000 Gals. Hayward S-244T sand filter, SP2810X15 pump
    (1.5 HP motor) Raypak PR266AEN (266k btu) gas heater. TF-100 Test Kit.
    Dolphin E10 Cleaning Robot.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I got down and looked at it with my 10 power jewelers loupe:

    The large pebbles that are obvious, are mostly smooth. But the cement that bonds, is a mixture of cement and crushed gravel. Tiny, but rough as a cob.

    Attached is a close up. Note the parallelogram shaped stone is ~ 1/2" across. Closeup 2.jpg
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  16. Back To Top    #16
    philboyj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    326

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuckiechan View Post
    It's not the plaster, it's the exposed aggregate walking surface surrounding the pool.
    Got it. I recall seeing ads in Houston claiming to "fix" pea gravel concrete. Not sure what exactly they do. Probably put an overlay and stamp it.
    Geometric pool with all Pentair equipment. Raised spa - 18" with Artic Lagoon 1" glass tiles. 3HP VS Pump, 2 skimmers, 6 returns, IC40 Salt system, Easy Touch 8 with LED color light in pool and spa. 1200 sqft of Marble White Pavers decking in Versailles pattern. Tiling and coping almost completed, Indigo Blue Prism Matrix plaster. Pool Build Thread: Houston (Katy) Pool Build - Started April 2016

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I think I'm going to have to live with it.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    Quote Originally Posted by philboyj View Post
    Got it. I recall seeing ads in Houston claiming to "fix" pea gravel concrete. Not sure what exactly they do. Probably put an overlay and stamp it.
    That would make the most sense.Grinding down exposed aggregate just seems like opening a can of worms. Grind too little and you now expose more sharp edges, grind too much and you have a slick surface (much like poured concrete flooring) that is a huge headache in wet areas. You can provide flipflops for every visitor for the next decade or so at a lot less cost and headache.
    Geebot
    Chicago, IL
    30K gal, InGround Plaster Finish, 3.5'-9.5', Maytronics S300 Cleaner

  19. Back To Top    #19


    TFP Guide

    bmoreswim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Central MD
    Posts
    3,291

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    It wouldn't help for any rough stones, but for the rough mortar areas, an elbow-grease solution maybe to use full strength MA and some kind of a walk behind power tool with a spinning rotary brush (don't know if that exists). The MA would "soften" up the mortar and the metal (probably have to be stainless) rotating brush might take the roughness off of it. I have no idea really but who knows. As a test a drill with wire brush and MA (along with goggles, mask, gloves, long sleeves and long pants) could be used on a test area.

    What I did do once is the following which is what gave me the idea. I had laid a brick patio in plastic trays on a sand base. I then brushed mortar mix over the bricks and watered it down to create a mortared in place brick patio. Problem was that the brick was a slight bit damp (not obviously damp) but it caused a skim of mortar to form on all of the bricks. It looked gray overall. So I used a drill with a wire brush and full strength MA and worked brick by brick. When finished, it was great and "antiqued" to boot. But a major PITA and time sink. That patio was probably 12 x 12.
    18'x38' Rectangle (3'-8 1/2' deep w/ diving board) - 27K gal. w/ gray plaster
    Hayward equipment (cartridge filter, 2-speed pump, SWCG, automation) View Our Build
    Coverstar automatic pool cover | StoneMakers concrete retaining wall and decking
    Spring 2013 Build | Dolphin Active 20 robot cleaner | Support TFP!

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: My exposed aggregate is too rough. I need to grind it down just a bit.

    I'm guessing I have ~ 400sf.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •