Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Going to attempt to hard plumb pool today

1. Back To Top    #1

Going to attempt to hard plumb pool today

Hi all,

So over the past few days, I've had major complications with the regular old hoses that I've been using for several years now. For some reason, they just aren't fitting properly this year, as they have in the past. Not sure why.

Anyway, after a good bit of research, it seems that hard plumbing is the way to go as it is more efficient, more attractive, and easier to maintain.

Could someone experience provide some information on what type of pvc pipes, fittings, etc. I will need to complete this? As well as any advice.

Is this something that I should be able to do in a day?

Thanks,
    Jared

20160609_193525.jpg
    10K GAL, AGP Vinyl, Pentair Sand Dollar (SD40) filter, Pentair Dyanamo High Performance Pump (DYNIIN1-1)
    HP 1.50 SPL, Kreepy Krauly Lil Shark Pool Vacuum, Taylor K-2006 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Going to attempt to hard plumb pool today

If you've worked with pvc pipe before it's not too hard to cut and glue up. The biggest decision to make is do you use 1 1/2"or 2" pipe. Everything need to be sch40 pvc. That's about as much as I know. I'm also going to be doing what you're doing down the way so I'm going to follow along and learn as well on what the best way is.

24'x52" Artesian w/ Portifino liner - Hayward 1hp powerflo matrix w/24" sand filter - AquaTrol RJ SWG. Solar heating to come. -

3. Back To Top    #3

Take your time, the last thing you want is to have dripping water.
    Cut pipe with chop saw.
    Clean edges.
    Dry fit everything before you glue.
    Use glue liberally, glue pipe and joint. Let it dry. I like the Gorilla glue (says pools and spas).
    If you have screw joints wrap so that they do not screw all the way in, like 7 to 10 wraps.
    Put a shut off valve under the skimmer.