Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: TFT Pressure Gauge

1. Back To Top    #1

TFT Pressure Gauge

I purchased the bottom mount pressure gauge from tft, I believe it was last year, and since day one it's been inconsistent. For example, it could read 20psi, turn the pump off and on, then it's at 17 and a few minutes later it will be at 20. Other times it behaves as expected, which would be for it to read 20 again. Sometimes when I turn the pump off, it slowly goes to 0, most of the times it goes straight to 0. Other times when I turn the pump on it slowly rises, most of the times it climbs right to, what I assume, is the correct psi. Did I get a dud? is there something I can do to try to correct it?
    23K gallon, IG, Vinyl, Hayward DE-3600 Filter, Raypak 406A Heater, Hayward 1.5HP SP2610X15 pump aka AO Smith UST1152, TF-100 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: TFT Pressure Gauge

I am NOT an engineer but that doesn't sound wrong to me.

Keep in mind that filters are dynamic... you will have different amounts of debris and pressure at different times.

If I plug in my Polaris the pressure is higher than if that return is left wide open, and if I need to backwash it will also be higher.

Yet you're ultimately getting the same reading in minutes of 20, right? It just takes a few minutes?
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

3. Back To Top    #3