Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First time doing this... am I doing it right?`

1. Back To Top    #1

Question First time doing this... am I doing it right?`

So, at long last I got my new equipment pad built, enough that I could set my equipment up anyway.
    Due to a complete rebuild of the equipment pad including new pump, I finally 'opened' the pool. (is there a specific forum to post pics of stuff like that?) I took the cover off last week and tested just the chlorine and Ph, they were surprisingly in an acceptable range. I didn't see much point in doing the full test (with my shiny new TF-100) until the water was circulating.

Here's the results I got for my first test (keep in mid this is my first time testing with the TF-100, but it's pretty straight forward I found).

Temp 20.6 (c)
    Salt 2200
    FC 0.5
    PH 7.3-7.4 ish
    TA 100
    CH 350
    CYA 0
    CC 0

the pool had been circulating about an hour at this point.

Now I'm quite sure of the FC because I did it three times (second time to be sure, third time because I didn't read ahead far enough to realize I had to use that water to test CC

Now the CYA was right at the brim when I tried it. Full disclaimer - it was almost sunset. I WILL to the 50ppm test tomorrow when it's bright with the sun at my back, then do the full test set again. The pool will have had a good 12 - 14 hours of circulation by then.

Oh. I also added a jug of 12% bleach (I think it was 12) - it was the pool stuff from walmart, because the salt is too low for my swg to kick in.

So assuming I get the same results tomorrow, obviously I need CYA and Salt, we'll see where the FC is tomorrow given my jug of bleach, but do I need to SLAM considering my CC is zero?

I'd appreciate any comments, corrections, or advice.