Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Volleyball Pool?

1. Back To Top    #1

Volleyball Pool?

I recently purchased a home and it has a pool, naturally. I found out during escrow that it was not your "standard" pool with a shallow end and a deep end. The owner filled in the deep end so that now, it is shallow on both ends and 5.5' in the middle! The seller claimed her father did this so that they could play water volleyball in the pool. I was also talking to the previous pool man, and he claims that pools nowadays no longer have a deep end or diving boards due to liability issues. Is this true? I grew up with a "regular" pool that had a deep end and LOVED diving into it. I DID scrape my face a few times at the abrupt shallow end, I will admit that.

Should I be mad that this pool has no deep end? Or... is it a matter of preference and maybe a blessing in disguise because there is less water?

Sorry for the newbie question. I AM new at this.
    16,250 Gallons, IG Plaster; Pentair Clean & Clear CC100 Cartridge Filter with WhisperFlo Pump;
    Pool install 1980's; TF-100 Test Kit; Stage 2 California drought restrictions

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Volleyball Pool?

Of course pools still have deep ends. But some people prefer a sports pool. If you have kids they will likely want a deep end.
    1200 Sq Ft 41,000 Gal. Gunite, JANDY SVRS VS pump, JANDY JXI 400,000 BTU, Polaris 280 w/ 3/4 BP, Rockwall and Grotto (w/6 jets and blower), 2 JANDY Lam Jets, 2 LED Bubblers, 5 Ledlights, AQUALINK P16 RS, 90% Quartz, SWF 185 GMP BP, SWF 125 BP, Levelor K1100 Autofill, AP Digital SWG, 2 skim and 5 returns, and mostly 3 inch piping

3. Back To Top    #3

I am currently having a pool built. My pool builder try to sell me a sports pool. I decided on a conventional pool, shallow end is 4 feet and the deep end will be 6 feet. I wish I could afford a diving pool, but just didn't have the budget for that style pool.
    Xavier in Baytown, Texas