Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Aquarite salt reading not matching salt in water

1. Back To Top    #1

Aquarite salt reading not matching salt in water

Hello. Hopefully someone can assist. I have a Viking fiberglass in-ground pool with an Aquarite Salt Chlorine Generator (T-9 cell). This is my 3rd Summer with the pool so I'm still learning how to take care of it.

Anyway, the box has been reading approximately 600-700 higher than the actual salt reading in the water. At the moment, the box is at 3500 but the water test and my test strips only shows 2800. This has been causing us some issues with chlorine being generated. I tried re-calibrating by selecting Off, then Auto, but the salt number does not get below 3500 during the countdown. When the pool was opened in April, the difference was still 700 (1900/2600). I've since added several bags of salt. The system is recognizing the new salt being added, but both numbers are increasing by the same amount which isn't solving my problem. I had the T-9 cell tested this past weekend at Leslie's Pool Supply and it came back "OK." They told me to re-calibrate the system, which didn't work.

Any suggestions? I sent a support message to Hayward but wanted to try here as well. Thank you in advance!

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Aquarite salt reading not matching salt in water

Yeah, the answer is fairly simple....make your SWG happy. If it wants salt, you will need to add salt regardless of what your tests say.

If your SWG is happy and producing chlorine, leave the salt content alone.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Can you post the diagnostic readings?

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    Can you post the diagnostic readings?
    Thank you for the replies. My readings are as follows:

59p
    RL-1
    r1.58
    t-9