Leaking Pipe

Jun 5, 2016
mahopac, ny
I have Hayward super pump for my in ground pool and I just noticed today that the PVC pipe that's connected to it is spitting out a decent amount of water where the two join. I wrapped it several times with plumbers tape and used a hose clamp to tighten it up. It did slow down the leak a lot but not 100%. Any suggestions? This is only my second year with the pool so I'm still learning.

If it is a threaded connection, it will need to be taken apart, have pipe sealant (teflon tape, pipe dope, etc) re-applied and then re-assembled. There is no way you can seal a leak like that without taking it apart. Pictures will help us here if you can post some.

Hard to tell from the pic and with the Teflon tape wrap, but that just looks like one male adapter screwed into the pump outlet with the PVC glued into it. In any case, if the part is beginning to fail, you'll want to replace that soon. With all that pressure on the outlet side, you don't want to take a chance on it rupturing when you're away from home. Here's on example of a possible replacement type: Hayward 2 Slip, Union, Flush Wg (sp14983s) - INYOPools.com
. There are many others. I would call first to ensure something like this is the exact match/fit for your pump.

Do you have any plumbing skills at all? This is not a plumber job for someone who is DIY handy. But if you have never worked with PVC before, I wouldn't make this my first attempt. Threaded fittings can sometimes be tough to get sealed. IN any event, if you do try it yourself- do not use Teflon tape. Use pipe dope with teflon instead. Less chance of over tightening and splitting a fitting.

BTW- Teflon tape on the outside of a threaded fitting really doesn't do anything. It has to be on the physical threads inside the fitting to stop leaks.