Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GFCI Question

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3

    GFCI Question

    Hello, I'm running a 12x30 intex metal frame above ground pool with an Intex saltwater system. Both my pump and saltwater system have gfcis built into the plugs. They are both currently plugged into a non-GFCI outlet inside my garage, the cords run under the garage door...the gap is big enough so the cords don't get squished. I also have the pool pump plugged into a woods timer. My question is, is my outlet considered "indoors" since it's inside a garage? Or do i need to convert to a GFCI outlet? The outlet is roughly 10-12 feet away from the pool. I'm in Canada if that makes any difference with electrical codes. Any insight would be appreciated!

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Waterford, MI
    Posts
    122

    Re: GFCI Question

    You should make that garage plug a GFCI if it is not GFCI protected.
    Michigan - 24'x54" AG, approx 15,000g, 2 center drains, Cartridge filter, Aqua Pro 2hp, 2 speed pump 3.5a@1725w / 10.5a@3450w, AquaCal TropiCal T90 heat pump, Hayward Salt & Swim SWG, Poolskim, Aquabot Rover Jr.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: GFCI Question

    I am not too familiar with Canadian codes, but for the most part they follow the US NEC. Should there be a GFCI, Yes. However here is where it can get confusing. Was the garage built when the codes required one??? codes are not retroactive so there may not have been a requirement for one at that time. Personally, I would have installed one. Now for the next code issue. Codes do not allow for temporary wiring (extension cords, Appliance cords, etc) to pass thru doors and windows
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Charter Oak, California
    Posts
    271

    Re: GFCI Question

    My Intex pump has a built in GFCI plug as well. When it was plugged into a GFCI recepticle, as soon as the internal Intex pump timer shut off the pump, the GFCI on the built in plug end of the pump tripped and it had to be reset manually. My understanding is one GFCI is enough, whether it's the receptacle at the house or the one built into the plug at the end of the pump cord. But again, I'm not an electrician. It's interesting you got an external timer to work at all. I tried that when I first set up my pool and when the external timer turned off the pump, the GFCI on the plug end tripped and I had to manually rest it before the pump would come back on again.. Try this link from a couple days ago..Intex 1000 gph pump-GFI will not reset

    Last edited by Schnozz; 06-09-2016 at 08:42 AM. Reason: Correct spelling/grsmmer
    Bob (AKA Schnozz)
    12 x 24 x 52 Intex Ultra Frame AGP, 8600 Gal; Pentair 2HP/2SP 150sqft Cartridge Filter; Hayward Through Wall Skimmer; Intex Automatic Cleaner (Fantastic); K-2006 Test Kit; Start-up 07/30/2015. First Time Pool Owner in SoCal.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    jmcdtucson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314

    Re: GFCI Question

    My pump's GFCI plug had problems also. I just cut it out as the outlet is also GFCI and one is sufficient.
    Intex 12'x24'x52"
    8,403 gallons
    Intex SF60110 2450 GPH Sand Filter
    Intex CS8110 SWG
    Aquabot AJET121I Pool Rover S20-40

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    2,769

    Re: GFCI Question

    The conundrum:

    The NEC requires electrical outlets supplying power to a permanently installed pool to be protected by a GFCI. NEC 680.20(C). The Plug connection for a permanent pool does not have to have integrated GFCI protection. NEC 680.20(A)(5).

    The NEC requires 125 volt electrical outlets within 20 feet of a sorable pool to be protected by a GFCI. NEC 680.32. The Plug connection for a storable pool must have integrated GFCI protection. NEC 680.31.

    So if you cut the GFCI off the cord the pump no longer has its UL certification.

    Frankly I have no answer, because as you have noticed GFCI in series tend to have more nuisance trips. Inexpensive timers and transformers only make things worse.

    I think this is rather nuts. I would buy a high quality timer. I would use the two GFCI unless I had a tripping problem. I would have the GFCI in the outlet not the breaker. If I had a tripping problem I would replace the entire cord, not just cut off the end. I would keep the GFCI cord so I could replace it later if I sell the pool.
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oakbank, Canada
    Posts
    383

    Re: GFCI Question

    Yes, you need to change over to a GFIC outlet. Not hard to do and not expensive.

    Quote Originally Posted by brill22 View Post
    Hello, I'm running a 12x30 intex metal frame above ground pool with an Intex saltwater system. Both my pump and saltwater system have gfcis built into the plugs. They are both currently plugged into a non-GFCI outlet inside my garage, the cords run under the garage door...the gap is big enough so the cords don't get squished. I also have the pool pump plugged into a woods timer. My question is, is my outlet considered "indoors" since it's inside a garage? Or do i need to convert to a GFCI outlet? The outlet is roughly 10-12 feet away from the pool. I'm in Canada if that makes any difference with electrical codes. Any insight would be appreciated!
    Ultra 16', Intex Sand filter/pump combo, 8' x 20' solar panels, solar blanket w/roll tube, 1" extruded foam floor with Gorilla pad, Liquid chlorine and stabilizer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •