Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New filter possibly?

1. Back To Top    #1

New filter possibly?

Hi. I moved into a house with a pool two years ago and have been struggling to keep it well-behaved ever since, since I've never worked with pools before.

I have an FNS Plus 60 sq. ft. DE filter which I cleaned today after seeing the pressure go up 10 psi or more over the indicated starting point. I noticed some of the grids have been worn out pretty badly and cleaning the grids thoroughly is practically impossible since the bolts at the top thing are rusted in place. I did the best I could, dumped the 7.5 pounds of DE in the pool skimmer and waited a few hours, and the pressure is still high.

I feel like I need a new filter, but a new DE filter is too much for us to afford right now, and I need some professional advice on what I should do. Thanks!

Edit: I added some PhosFree and forgot to read the label which clearly states that it raises pressure. Oh well. Main concern still stands!
    ~12,000 gallons, in-ground concrete pool. 60 sq. ft. DE filter (FNS Plus). 2 HP pump. Outdoor.

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: New filter possibly?

Welcome to TFP

Just replace the grids and you will be good to go
    Pleatco PFS3060 Filter Grid for Pentair, American, Hayward, Pac-Fab (7 full + 1 half), 60 sq ft

Stick around and check out some of the threads
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for the welcoming! I can't replace grids. Bolts are rusted in at the top so I can't remove the grids :/
    ~12,000 gallons, in-ground concrete pool. 60 sq. ft. DE filter (FNS Plus). 2 HP pump. Outdoor.

4. Back To Top    #4