Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time pool owner

1. Back To Top    #1

First time pool owner

Hello all, just bought a new house with a pool and I need some advice . The local pool store keeps giving me the runaround and I'm sick of it. Just got my Taylor K-2006 kit in the mail. Here are my numbers.

FC- 3.0
    CC- 1.2
    PH- 7.2
    TA- 130
    CH- 130
    CYA- 100

I'm new to all this and would appreciate any recommendations. I'm still learning about all the chemicals and I'm constantly looking over the Pool School but I'm still lost. Thanks in advance!
    23,000g | IG | vinyl | Pentair FNS Plus 48 Square Foot Fiberglass DE Filter | hayward 3/4 HP pump | Raypak Digital 199,500 BTU Heater

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First time pool owner

Welcome. I assume your Hayward Chlorinator is a puck dispenser? Your CYA is at least twice as high as it should be. Only way to lower it is to replace water. Thank the pucks for that. Your FC is Faaaar too low for your CYA level. See the chlorine/cya chart in Pool School. You'll need to follow our SLAM procedure in Pool School. We'll worry about TA later.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

So the pucks are causing the high CYA reading? At first I wasn't getting any chlorine reading at all so I added a floater as well. I guess that was the wrong decision, huh?
    23,000g | IG | vinyl | Pentair FNS Plus 48 Square Foot Fiberglass DE Filter | hayward 3/4 HP pump | Raypak Digital 199,500 BTU Heater

4. Back To Top    #4

The CYA test maxes out at 100 and it might be even higher. See step 9 on this page: Pool School - CYA