Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Nitrate Problem

1. Back To Top    #1

Nitrate Problem

Hello all. I'm new to TFP, so please bare with me. We have a 15x30 (approx 13,500 gallons) above ground pool, vinyl liner. We have only had it for two years, so I'm VERY new to this and truthfully don't know a lot.

We uncovered it for the year, and it was very green. I added 4lbs of shock yesterday, and brushed the pool. I went and tested the pool today and my chlorine was at ZERO. I was confused, so I took a sample to the pool store to confirm. Here are the results they gave me:

FAC: .5
    TAC: .5
    CH: 280
    CYA: 0
    TA: 100
    pH: 7

But.....they told me my Nitrates are 200!! They said they've never seen a result that high. So their advice, drain and refill. Well, that SOUNDS good in theory, but then they told me to be worried about the liner drying out and shrinking so I have to have it filled pretty much instantly - no one does water delivery near me that I've found.

But then Google led me here, and I'm wondering if so have to empty and refill for Nitrates?

Like I said I am a totally newbie when it comes to pool ownership, so I'm hoping you guys might be able to help. Thank you so much!!!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Nitrate Problem

Two things consume chlorine: sunlight and organics.

Organics is the green stuff in your water
    You have no CYA to speak of, so sunlight got the rest.

What you need is a whole lot of bleach to get ahead of the algae growth and kill it, and some CYA to protect the bleach from the sun so it can do its job killing algae.

Nitrates will feed algae, to be sure. But if there's no algae to eat it, who cares? The proper FC/CYA ratio will ensure that. Take a few minutes to read through ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry so you understand our strange language.

If you use the search box for Nitrates, you'll find 582 threads. Pretty much all of them say Nitrates are immaterial.