Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Catterpillars in my pool!!??

1. Back To Top    #1

Catterpillars in my pool!!??

Hi! I'm not very good at this pool thing - so would really appreciate your help. I now have critters.

We started opening the pool 2 weeks ago. Admittedly, we did a pretty poor job of closing it (bought a do it yourself kit, but the cover didn't entirely stay on the pool). Used about 12 bags of shock, water started clearing up. Cleaned out a lot of debris..... day after day. Water was light green but still couldn't see the bottom. Running filter 24 hours. Managed to pull out a rather stinky dead squirrel - EEEEKKK

Went away for 3 nights....had to turn off filter as all the stringys are coming off the oak and falling into the pool. Returned home, cleaned top, leaf eating the bottom, filter back on. Now I'm finding lots of green caterpillars among the leaves I pull out (YUCK). And they are still alive after I've thrown in 9 bags of shock.

Any idea of what they are and how to get rid of them? I'm also finding little white flakes.

The pool is above ground, 12x24 feet, chlorine. New filter cartridge.......
    Appreciate the help!!
    Inherited pool.... constant trouble. I'm just not good at this!!
    Pool is above ground, vinyl liner. Oval shape, about 12 feet wide by 24 feet long. Just installed a new cartridge.... we don't use the heater. 3 big oak trees right near pol cause constant grief. Last year it took weeks to get it clear enough to see the bottom.....we seem to dump more chemicals in that any other pool owner. Would love your advice!!

2. Back To Top    #2
    Longview, Texas

Re: Catterpillars in my pool!!??

Im sure the caterpillars fell from the trees. If it rained recently, the rain may have knocked them off. The catepillar cycle is short though, so they should be gone soon enough.

I would recommend that you read the articles in Pool School. Click the big button at top right of the page.