Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Getting the pool going

1. Back To Top    #1

Getting the pool going

Hey guys I am new to the pool deal, but I just replaced the sand and bought a new filter and ordered the Taylor Tf-100 test kit. We poured algaecide in last night and the pool has turned a cloudy blue instead of green. While I am waiting on my test kit to arrive, and I have significantly reduced the algae what can I pour into my pool?

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Getting the pool going

Hey there,

Could you please fill out your signature, it will help us give recommendations like this... Trouble Free Pool

stock up on bleach or liquid chlorine from walmart
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

3. Back To Top    #3

Done.
    Pool: above ground, vinyl, 24x24x4.5 Hayward pro series sand filter, Hayward power-flo LX pump 1.5HP

4. Back To Top    #4

Can someone help?
    Pool: above ground, vinyl, 24x24x4.5 Hayward pro series sand filter, Hayward power-flo LX pump 1.5HP

5. Back To Top    #5

Please don't pour anything into your pool except liquid chlorine, aka "bleach". Algaecides don't get rid of algae, they are meant to prevent it.

While waiting for your TF-100 to arrive, please only add 1/2 bottle of plain, unscented bleach from the laundry aisle (8.25%) each night until you can bring us test results.

Make sure you've removed any debris (leaves, dead possums, lumpy stuff, y'know?) from the pool too.

You're on the right track with ordering a test kit. And even cloudy blue is better than cloudy green, right?