Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Like many before me, I had a limiter that cracked on my Aqua Rite keeping the unit from powering and generating chlorine. I replaced it and have now encountered the opposite problem. The unit powers and generates... but won't stop generating regardless of the dialed output. If the unit is on, chlorine is being generated. I now have very high levels of chlorine in the pool. I can't figure out what is wrong. Anyone else have this issue and a solution? Thank you!

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Go to percentage in diagnostics and then turn the dial to see if the digital readout matches the dial selector.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Unfortunately, it does.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Can you post all of the the diagnostics?

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Just turned it back to AUTO from OFF as I try to let some chlorine burn off so my kids can swim tomorrow.
    3300
    81
    26.5... varies and appears to climb
    2.82... varies and appears to climb
    5p
    -3300
    AL-0
    r 1.55
    t-3

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Ok, check it again to see if it's still generating.

    5% of 180 minutes is 9 minutes. It should only generate for 9 minutes and then be off for 171 minutes.

    You're set to a T-3 cell, is that what you have?

    How many gallons is your pool?

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Had turned it back off... sorry. Just fired it back to AUTO. Will check in 10 minutes. Does the % run on a 3-hour basis/cycle?

    Yep... set to t-3 and that's what I have. My pool is about 10-12k gallons.

    Thank you for working with me and assisting. I greatly appreciate it.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    r 1.55 uses a 3 hour cycle.

    The original cycle was 100 minutes, then 120 minutes and now 180 minutes.

    How long does the pump run per day?

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Still has generating light on. Stats follow:
    3300
    81
    31.1
    0.00
    5p
    -0
    AL-0
    r1.55
    t-3

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Looks like voltage and instant salinity went to 0. Any ideas on that? Wouldn't that suggest that it wasn't generating? Light is definitely on and the No Flow light is not.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Pump generally runs all day, but I could set the timer.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    48

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    My new one does that. Seems the generating light means the unit is on but not necessarily generating that minute. It will cycle on and off and you can see it via those instant readings. That's how mine is behaving anyway.
    ~15k gal oasis shape, IG vinyl, 2 speed superflow 1HP ~6' above pool level, pentair TA60D 60GPM/325# sand, built 2004, intermatic 1353 and stenner chlorine injection pump, dolphin robot, and a filthy light niche

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    The “Generating” light stays on when the switch is in “Auto”, even when it is in the off part of the cycle.

    The amps and instant salt went to zero, which indicate that it is not generating (meaning that it is now in the OFF part of the cycle).

    Everything looks like it is working correctly.

    What are your readings for fc (chlorine)and cya (cyanuric acid)?

    3300 (Average salt)
    81 (Water Temperature in F)
    31.1 (Volts DC) (Correct voltage when not generating)
    0.00 (Amps) (Correct when not generating)
    5p (Percent)
    -0 (Instant salt) (Correct when not generating)
    AL-0 (Product name)
    r1.55 (Software revision)
    t-3 (Cell type).

    If your pump ran 24 hours a day and the cell was set to 100%, about 7.2 ppm of chlorine would be added per day. That would be too much for a normal day.

    For a pump run time of 24 hours, a setting of 25 to 50 % should be enough for most days.

    Not sure why your chlorine is so high.

    Leave it off until your fc is about 10% of the cya and then turn the output percent to 25 % and see how that works.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    That sounds like VERY good news.

    Well, I have had the pump running all day since Tuesday... chlorinator at 50% which has been pretty good in the past summers.

    Free chlorine was 10 when checked at the pool store today. Turned off the SWC upon returning to cease chlorine production. Had been noticing the constant "Generating" light all week and was actually expecting it to be high as I felt like it had chlorinated constantly since Tuesday.

    CYA was 100 as I had loaded it slowly last weekend. It was okay.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    By all day, I mean 24 hours. Sorry.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    St. Charles/MO
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Thank you both for your help!

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: Aqua Rite - Constant Chlorine Generation

    Everything seems like it is working correctly. The CYA is a bit high and will hold in chlorine. Try to work the CYA down to below 80 ppm. Maintain fc at about 7.5 % of cya.

    Also, I would recommend that you get your own FASDPD test kit so that you can accurately monitor and adjust your FC as needed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •