Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SWG with new variable speed pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    9

    SWG with new variable speed pump

    I wasn't sure what forum area to post this in, but since the SWG is my first concern, I started here.

    My pump would hum but not spin as I attempted to open my pool this year, and I got a late start anyway as we've been busy and the warm weather's coming. Time being of the essence, I called my pool guy (he installed the pool ~12 years ago) and had him replace the pump. He put in a Pentair Superflow VS. Had I time to read ahead I'd have probably chosen a two-speed instead, but that's water under the bridge now.

    The rest of my system includes an Aqua Logic SWG + controller, one of the earlier models. Right now it's just hooked in place of the former single speed pump; if I read the manual correctly, as long as it doesn't go 24 hours without power, it'll run on whatever its internal schedule calls for when the Aqua Logic controller turns the pump power on. I might eventually wish to order the pump's control cable and let the automation have more control... someday.

    But for now, I want to understand: what's the relationship between SWG output and pump speed? Assuming I don't go below the minimum flow level for the SWG to kick in, does it create approximately the same amount of chlorine, no matter the flow? So at a slower speed, the returns would have a higher concentration of chlorine, that would hopefully then "mix" in the pool, so same runtime approximately equals the same amount of chlorine in the pool, regardless of speed?

    Thanks!
    18 x 40 ft., 28,000 gal, vinyl lined pool, cartridge filter, AquaLogic SWG, installed in 2004.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: SWG with new variable speed pump

    The pump speed does not affect SWG output. BUT, if the pump is set TOO slow, the flow sensor may think there is no flow and shut the generator off.

    I run my pump at about 1400 rpm, and let it run 24 hours. I did the math in a spreadsheet and found this uses the least electricity.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JoyfulNoise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    11,586

    Re: SWG with new variable speed pump

    You are correct. For all practical purposes, the SWG output is independent of flow rate as long as you are above the minimum flow rate for your brand of SWG.
    Matt
    16k IG PebbleTec pool, 650gal spa, spillway and waterfall, 3HP IntelliFlo VS / 1.5HP WhisperFlo, Pentair QuadDE-100 filter, IC40 SWCG, MasterTemp 400k BTU/hr NG heater, KreepyKrauly suction-side cleaner Dolphin S300i robot, EasyTouch controls, city water, K-1001, K-2006 and K-1766 test kits, Mannitol test for borates

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    9

    Re: SWG with new variable speed pump

    Thank you both!

    Next question (although I *really* may be in the wrong section of the forum now): would it be the same idea for the pool heater? Assuming you are above it's minimum flow, at lower flow rates you get hotter water at the return jet, but same amount of total heat added to the pool as a whole?
    18 x 40 ft., 28,000 gal, vinyl lined pool, cartridge filter, AquaLogic SWG, installed in 2004.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,669

    Re: SWG with new variable speed pump

    Here is a link to a thread that goes over this, Heating with a variable speed pump.

    You can use the search function to find other threads with the same topic.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: SWG with new variable speed pump

    No, you need higher flow rate to get the most from your heater. The owners manual should give some reference points on entering and leaving water temps. My heat pump recommends a flow rate to achieve a 2C increase in water temp.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    9

    Re: SWG with new variable speed pump

    Thanks, both of you! Although I have Aqua Logic, the new pump (with built-in timer) was installed with power being the only connection to the controller (so the schedule in the pump is the only thing that can select the current speed). I may need to order the remote control cable for the pump to see if I can increase the pump speed when the heater is on. For now, though, I'll just use a faster pump speed while I'm in the heating portions of the season.

    Back on topic for the SWG area: my AquaLogic is now displaying CELL POWER ERROR. At first I thought it might be related to running at a slower speed, but after cranking up the pump, I'm quite sure it's not. I've done *plenty* of searches on this topic now, tried resetting it a couple of times, diluted my salt concentration a bit so it's now in the middle of the recommended range rather than on the high side, no change.

    This is different from the "NO CELL POWER" error, which I had previously fixed (a couple of years ago) by re-soldering the connection on the circuit board. So, now I've got a replacement GLX-PCB-MAIN (main circuit board) ordered and on its way. I'm using other chlorination methods in the meantime.
    18 x 40 ft., 28,000 gal, vinyl lined pool, cartridge filter, AquaLogic SWG, installed in 2004.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •