Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Can't get free clorine

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Dmarkham96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tallassee
    Posts
    6

    Can't get free clorine

    Opened pool and add some algae. Shocked pooled and used algaeside pool is clear but no Fc. Have put over 50 lbs shock. No result. Readings now are hardness 0, tc 3, Fc .5, ph 7.6, tot alkalinity 150, cva 80. Did not realize shock was raising cya lowering ph. Got ph up. Added 4 gal per 10,000 8.3% bleach next moering same result. Put five gals pool water in bucket and added 8 gal per 10,000. Fc went to 3 and tc went to 10. Waited one hour did another 8 gal per 10000. Fc is now tc greater than 10. Wow can you shock this hard and what else could it be
    Pool is 20 by 40 tapered on each end. 3 ft to 8ft in ground. Not salt water. Auto clorine Haywood CL220

  2. Back To Top    #2


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Welcome to TFP

    We need to talk about this... please let us know exactly how much granular shock you added to your pool, if you really used 50 pounds you have added 336 FC and raised your CYA to 222 and that is not counting what was already in your pool.

    It looks like you are using test strips and they just do not work. please let us know what you're testing with, if it is not a Taylor K-2006 or the TF100 you will need to order one tonight so you can get a handle on what is going on..

    Please let us know
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Well.... if the pool is green and gooey, that'll suck up chlorine like nobody's business. And if the pool had CYA last season -- like from using pucks to chlorinate -- and this year it had none left, it could be ammonia, which will use up chlorine about as fast as you can pour it in the water at an alarming rate and leave you with giant CC numbers.

    FC + CC = TC; TC-FC= CC

    How are you testing?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard320 View Post
    Well.... if the pool is green and gooey, that'll suck up chlorine like nobody's business. And if the pool had CYA last season -- like from using pucks to chlorinate -- and this year it had none left, it could be ammonia, which will use up chlorine about as fast as you can pour it in the water at an alarming rate and leave you with giant CC numbers.

    FC + CC = TC; TC-FC= CC

    How are you testing?
    What he said....
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Dmarkham96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tallassee
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    We are using same strips that pool company used Aquachek 7. We have Taylor 2006 ordered. Pool is crystal clear with current reading. Felt we needed to raise FC. The shock has been over a period of a week

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Dmarkham96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tallassee
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Pool company wants to drain Nd refill. Don't understand. It is so clear

  7. Back To Top    #7

    TFP Guide
    BattleOfYakima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,333

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Do you happen to have the packaging or remember the name of the 50lbs you used? there are a couple different kinds of solid shock - each with a different chemical impact for the pool
    If I was effective, and your pool makes you smile, please make me smile and CLICK HERE to Become a TFP Supporter!
    Also, please make AmazonSmile donate to TFP by CLICKING HERE, at no cost to you!
    My Florida Pool: 20k IG plaster cart K-2006 | Washington State Pool I help with: 17k AG vinyl sand TF-100

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Dmarkham96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tallassee
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Shock is E-Z Clor Sodium Dichloro-s-triazinetrione dihydrate 99% Available chlorine 56%
    I also added a qt of Mustard algae plus that has copper in it.
    We also took samples to pool company and they tested wthe same as us with same readings we got
    After all the shock we added 25 lbs pf PH+
    Pool is 20 by 40 tapered on each end. 3 ft to 8ft in ground. Not salt water. Auto clorine Haywood CL220

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Buckeye AZ
    Posts
    807

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    This is how this will go:

    Get your taylor kit, and do pH, FC, TC, and CYA tests and post your numbers here. Probably don't need to really worry about TA and Calcium right now.

    If the CYA is really high, like over 60 or 70, then yes you are better off draining SOME of the pool, so don't add anything but a gallon of bleach each day until then.
    Assuming drain is not necessary, you will lower the ph to 7.2 or thereabouts. you will need muratic acid for this.

    You will likely need the SLAM process, which means you raise the FC level to shock level and keep it there, as long as necessary to pass the three criteria.
    Shock level depends on your CYA level. Reference the FC/CYA chart in pool school.

    This means testing and adding liquid chlorine throughout the day. And brushing the pool. You'll need to buy 10-12 gallons of liquid chlorine to start; regular old bleach works ok, but if you can get 8% or 10% it will mean fewer containers.

    You will need to be home all day to do this, probably for a few days. If you do have ammonia, because the FC disappears in minutes, you will need much more bleach, but you WILL break it at some point and it will start to hold.

    Look in the POOL SCHOOL tab at the top and start reading up on the SLAM.
    10,500 gal IG, Topaz Pebble, auto-level
    Hayward DE filter, 2HP Ecostar VSP, ProLogic PS-4, GVA actuators
    Cal Pools Wave Force Plus (wall return jets plus 2 floor pop-ups), Venturi Skimmer
    Water sheer, 2 wok pots, bubbler stem on the baja step
    ColorLogic Mutlicolor LED lamp. Taylor 2006+speed stir

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Dmarkham96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tallassee
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    received Taylor test kit today and here are my current readings
    FC .6, CC2
    PH 7.1-7.2
    Alk 160-170
    CYA 100
    Calcium 100
    Pool is clear!!! but we still don,t have much free chlorine. Pool is very clear. Remember we put 12 gals of 8.3% bleach in Sunday which we thought would get us to a high chlorine level. As I said earlier Pool company want to drain and refill. Need help
    Pool is 20 by 40 tapered on each end. 3 ft to 8ft in ground. Not salt water. Auto clorine Haywood CL220

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    You may wish to take a look at the extended CYA test instructions here Extended Test Kit Directions Test readings of 100 on the CYA test may be much higher since the gradients marks on the tube are logarithmic
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  12. Back To Top    #12

    TFP Guide
    BattleOfYakima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,333

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    Please do look at that page and do the part that says:

    1. If your CYA level is 90 or higher, repeat the test adjusting the procedure as follows:
      1. Fill the mixing bottle to the lower mark with pool water.
      2. Continue filling the mixing bottle to the upper mark with tap water.
      3. Shake briefly to mix.
      4. Pour off half of the contents of the mixing bottle, so it is again filled to the lower mark.
      5. Continue the test normally from step 3, but multiply the final result by two.
    If I was effective, and your pool makes you smile, please make me smile and CLICK HERE to Become a TFP Supporter!
    Also, please make AmazonSmile donate to TFP by CLICKING HERE, at no cost to you!
    My Florida Pool: 20k IG plaster cart K-2006 | Washington State Pool I help with: 17k AG vinyl sand TF-100

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Dmarkham96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tallassee
    Posts
    6

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    We did the cya test that way. Saturation level is -.5
    Pool is 20 by 40 tapered on each end. 3 ft to 8ft in ground. Not salt water. Auto clorine Haywood CL220

  14. Back To Top    #14


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Can't get free clorine

    SO, you are saying you did the diluted CYA test and got 50 CYA and then multiplied it by 2 and came up with CYA 100

    this is where you can make a decision on how to proceed. Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

    1. CYA of 50 (that is a good CYA level for FL) you would need to empty half of your water.. your SLAM FC will be 20

    2. drain 20% to take your CYA down to 80 and SLAM from there, you will use more chlorine for a SLAM but less water drain.. your SLAM FC will be 31
    this option will require you to be at a higher FC level daily but you will lose less to the sun..

    whatever option you use from now on your CYA will go down as you get rain almost daily..

    I hope this helps, let us know how you want to proceed
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •