Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Return flow

1. Back To Top    #1

Return flow

This is my first year for the pool, it is about 6-7 years old and was in the house I just purchased. I did some research and bought new pump and filter and plumbed everything with 2 inch pvc. Pool is quite dirty and I am about to start Slaming. But My question is if I start pump at pretty much any speed, I have tried all different speeds. I get a nice flow of water coming out of pump making the water swirl around pool. A couple hours later it seems like nothing is coming out of return, Pump settings haven't changed, cartridge pressure has not raised much but does raise a little. If I take cartridge out and clean, I get same good flow of water out of it and then couple hours later slow again. It is making me clean cartridge multiple times a day because I feel like it is not working correctly. Is pool just that dirty, or is something else occurring. I have tried turning up speed and priming incase there is air getting in, but that doesn't help. Also on the pump strainer, it goes from water splashing all around in there, to I can see the water slowly flowing out of pvc piping into the pump. Thanks in advance.
    17000 gallon semi inground pool, hayward super pump VS, Hayward 175 ft cartridge filter, 24 ft of head.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Return flow

Cartridge filters do an excellent job of filtering. Sounds like your filter is doing its job, but you have a very dirty pool with lots of suspended material to remove. It's just going to take a lot of cartridge cleaning to get things cleared up.

Welcome to TFP!
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir