Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: Adding CYA-do I need to?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Adding CYA-do I need to?

    I test my chlorine and pH levels daily and my pH still gets over 8+ every day with my new plaster (still adding MA daily). I test for everything else weekly. I've noticed that my CYA seems to be dropping and tested at 50 last night. Also noticed that my FC was down to 3.5 from the 5 I live to keep it at. I turned up the percentage on my SWG but should I add some CYA? I did have to drain off a couple inches of water from the pool last week after a particularly heavy rain put my water level above the skimmer. My pool gets full sun all day too. I must admit that thinking I might have to add CYA kind of scares me as I know so many people have the opposite problem of too much. If I do have to add, can someone give this newbie step by step "for dummies" instructions on how to do it? Any particular brand of CYA or anything to check so I know I'm getting the right stuff? I know I've read something about using a sock but if someone could actually spell it out it would be appreciated.

    Latest #'s:
    FC 3.5
    TC 0.5
    CC 4.0
    PH 8+ before adding MA
    TA 50
    CH 460
    CYA 50
    Salt 3200
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,967

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Yes, the higher CYA is required to protect the FC generated by your SWG, so I would increase it to 70. The heavy rains and water replacement may have had something to do with the drop. You can get granular stabilizer at Wal-Mart of home improvement store pool sections for about $16 or so.
    To increase CYA via granular stabilizer, place the required amount as calculated by the Poolmath calculator into a white sock and place in the poolside skimmer basket. For those concerned about suction flow to the pump, suspending the sock near a return jet or from a floating device will also suffice. Best never to allow undissolved granules to rest directly against the pool surface. Squeeze the sock periodically to help it dissipate. Once dissolved, consider your CYA adjusted to that programmed (target) level. CYA test readings should show a rise in 24-48 hours, however some pools may experience a longer delay to fully register. Best to confirm final CYA in about 5-7 days before adding any more stabilizer/conditioner.
    Keep a close eye on that pH to keep it in the mid-7 range. You'll go through a lot of acid the first few months. That's normal. Have a good day.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Stay on top of the pH as the gunite cures. The pH rise will eventually slow.

    Do you have an autofill? Draining a few inches of water would really not drop your CYA a sufficient amount to notice on a test so I'm wondering why it has dropped. Where was it before?
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post
    Stay on top of the pH as the gunite cures. The pH rise will eventually slow.

    Do you have an autofill? Draining a few inches of water would really not drop your CYA a sufficient amount to notice on a test so I'm wondering why it has dropped. Where was it before?
    No autofill but we have had to manually add water frequently in the last two months. Not much rain here lately other than the 4 inches we got last week. The CYA was originally 70 but I have seen a gradual decrease over the last month or so (I keep a log). I do add MA daily.
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Quote Originally Posted by Flbeachluvr View Post
    No autofill but we have had to manually add water frequently in the last two months. Not much rain here lately other than the 4 inches we got last week. The CYA was originally 70 but I have seen a gradual decrease over the last month or so (I keep a log). I do add MA daily.
    Adding water doesn't account for it. As pool water evaporates it leaves all the "stuff" behind in the remaining pool water. If you could test to a very precise level you would see that CYA goes up as water evaporates and returns to where it originally was when you add the water back. The only way CYA goes down is when water (that has the CYA in solution) is taken out of the pool.

    There are always gong to be variances in testing, especially with CYA. Do you have a friend who uses 3" pucks? In your small pool one 3" puck will add 6.7ppm CYA. Using one to help chlorinate for the few days it takes to dissolve would bring the CYA up slowly. I'm just afraid if you measure the amount of CYA to bring it up 20ppm it will be too easy to overshoot and maybe end up at 80 or 90. Plus, I'm still wondering if it has dropped that much at all.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    [/QUOTE]There are always gong to be variances in testing, especially with CYA. Do you have a friend who uses 3" pucks? In your small pool one 3" puck will add 6.7ppm CYA. Using one to help chlorinate for the few days it takes to dissolve would bring the CYA up slowly. I'm just afraid if you measure the amount of CYA to bring it up 20ppm it will be too easy to overshoot and maybe end up at 80 or 90. Plus, I'm still wondering if it has dropped that much at all.[/QUOTE]

    Exactly what I'm worried about, overshooting it and causing more problems. My husband already thinks I'm crazy to mess with the pool every day and thinks I should just leave everything alone.

    My brother-in-law next door uses pucks (with a CYA of over 200 ) so I could probably get one from him but I don't know what size he has. If I went that route what do I do with the puck? Just throw it in the pool and let it dissolve or do I put it in the skimmer? We are having a pool party this weekend so the extra chlorine wouldn't hurt either.

    I'm pretty confident in my testing but will check again before adding anything.
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  7. Back To Top    #7
    SCon36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, KY
    Posts
    118

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    I don't want to steer this off topic, but since I don't use my chlorinator anymore, can I (or anyone else) put the sock full of CYA in the chlorinator and have the same result? May actually be the only way to make it useful since we've done away with the pucks.
    SCon36

    24,000 Gallon IG vinyl pool (16x36x8) with Hayward S200 sand filter and Hayward pump and heat pump. Built August 2011. I use a Taylor K-2005 test kit with a K-1515 add on.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bIgL...0MyAw&index=29

  8. Back To Top    #8

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    ...Just throw it in the pool and let it dissolve or do I put it in the skimmer?
    Never put a puck in the skimmer. It is highly acidic and can damage things. (I'm not sure how this is popping up so much lately )

    If you want to dissolve a puck there are cheap floaters at Walmart, Lowes/HD and of course pool stores.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bruce View Post
    Never put a puck in the skimmer. It is highly acidic and can damage things. (I'm not sure how this is popping up so much lately )

    If you want to dissolve a puck there are cheap floaters at Walmart, Lowes/HD and of course pool stores.
    Well I'm almost thinking it would be the cheapest option just to get the stabilizer at Walmart and put in half the recommended PoolMath amount and then wait a week and see what happens. I don't want to have to buy a floater if I don't have to. See previous post where husband already thinks I'm nuts lol.
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  10. Back To Top    #10

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    That is a good plan. The Wal-Mart brand (and most other places) comes in a 4 lb container. Pour a quarter of it in a sock (I got that here: http://www.troublefreepool.com/calc.html) and put it in the skimmer or hang it from a stick in front of a return. After it is dissolved check CYA and repeat as necessary.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bruce View Post
    That is a good plan. The Wal-Mart brand (and most other places) comes in a 4 lb container. Pour a quarter of it in a sock (I got that here: http://www.troublefreepool.com/calc.html) and put it in the skimmer or hang it from a stick in front of a return. After it is dissolved check CYA and repeat as necessary.
    Ok, sounds good then. And can we still swim with the sock in the skimmer? Will it turn the water cloudy or anything? We are having out-of-state family in this weekend and want the pool to be sparkling
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  12. Back To Top    #12

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    It will not make the water cloudy. Even if you do the "hang in front of a return" method and squeeze it the clouds dissipate quickly.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bruce View Post
    It will not make the water cloudy. Even if you do the "hang in front of a return" method and squeeze it the clouds dissipate quickly.
    Awesome, thanks
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    One last question-if I use the sock in the skimmer method, do I need to change the pump run time or remove the sock when the pump isn't running?
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  15. Back To Top    #15

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    I believe you should run the pump until the sock is empty and I'm pretty sure it is recommended to run for 24 hours after that to thoroughly mix.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Ok, so to make sure I understand see if this sounds like the correct plan:

    *Put half of recommended (per PoolMath) CYA into a sock and tie off the top (just a knot?)

    *Option 1-put sock into skimmer basket and leave to dissolve
    *Option 2-put sock in front of return by hanging over the side and anchoring down with something heavy (rock, cinder block, etc.). If the sock touches the pool surface will it cause damage? Should the sock be hung on a pole or something so it floats away from the side of the pool? Squeeze to help it dissolve.

    *Run pump 24/7 until all CYA has dissolved (is it REALLY necessary to run the pump 24/7-I will get resistance from my husband on this)

    I REALLY don't want to mess anything up.

    *Wait a week and retest CYA.
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    If you suspend the sock in front of a return or just tie it off to a pool noodle and let it float no need to run the pump 24/7.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  18. Back To Top    #18
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post
    If you suspend the sock in front of a return or just tie it off to a pool noodle and let it float no need to run the pump 24/7.
    Oh I love the pool noodle idea. I do have several of those but no bricks or cinder blocks!
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

  19. Back To Top    #19

    TFP Guide
    Mr Bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    1,798

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    Yes, just tie a knot. Yes, if the sock falls onto the surface it can bleach it. (Also if there is a hole in the sock it can fall out and bleach the surface, ask me how I know That is why I personally put it in the skimmer basket. ) To be completely honest, the best way is probably to walk around in the pool squeezing it until empty. Other options include puck floaters or pool noodles.
    24 hours after dissolving is "by the book". Here is the quote:
    Solid/granular cyanuric acid (CYA) should be placed in a sock and the sock put in the skimmer basket or suspended in front of a pool return. After adding CYA you should leave the pump running for 24 hours and not backwash/clean the filter for a week. Squeezing the sock periodically will help it to dissolve faster. Test and dose chemicals in your pool assuming the amount of CYA added is in the pool according to Poolmath. CYA can be tested the day after it is fully dissolved from the sock.
    I won't comment on personal methodology.

    It should show up soon after fully dissolving.
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Flbeachluvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Port Orange, FL
    Posts
    328

    Re: Adding CYA-do I need to?

    In looking at all the options I think the easiest for me would be the sock in skimmer method.

    About how long would it take for 1.5 cups take to dissolve with the pump running?
    Pool completed 3/21/2016
    8800 gallons, plaster 14' x 24', 3/4 hp Hayward pump, Hayward cartridge filter, Blue Essence T-5 SWG, Kreepy Krauly Kruiser, Taylor K-2006 test kit with Speedstir, Taylor K-1766 salt test and 250 sq. ft. of Heliocol solar panels with Pentair Solartouch control system

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •