Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: liner feeling slimy or slick

1. Back To Top    #1

liner feeling slimy or slick

First of all I am a total noob at this so please forgive me if I ask something stupid or ask for further clarification. My pool is starting to feel slimy. Here are my readings:
    FCC .5
    PH 6.8
    TA 80
    CH 25

Just got a low salt light so I imagine that is one part of it. I am cleaning the cell in vinegar as we speak to make sure I'm not getting a false reading. I put the pool up about a month ago and added 135lbs of salt at start up. Filled with city water. My hardness has always been really low but I was told this is a non issue unless too high. I have not done any water drains but have had a lot of rain for a few days. I run my salt system for 7 hours and my filter pump for 8 hours.
    Total Noob!
    Spring Hill, FL.
    5455 gal AG Vinyl pool
    635t Intex filter (cartridge)
    Krystal Clear 7110 SWG

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: liner feeling slimy or slick

You have algae because your FC is too low. Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

You need to SLAM your pool. Pool School - SLAM - Shock Level And Maintain

Which test kit are you using?
    32K gallon Plaster - 1hp Hayward 2 speed Super Pump - Hayward S200 Sand Filter - TF100XL
    Test Kits - Pool Math - Chlorine/CYA/Target/Slam Chart

3. Back To Top    #3

Ya' need to get that PH up to 7.2 or better as well. You don't tell us what your CYA level is.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

4. Back To Top    #4