Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: hayward sand filter

1. Back To Top    #1

hayward sand filter

Hello All-

I'm new to pools. I have an 27 foot above ground pool.

Has a sand filter. The pool is pretty dirty, so I have been trying to run the pump to clean it up a bit before shock. ( We currently are renovating and not living in the home).

SO as I said pool has leaves, lots dirt on the bottom. I did a lot of direct vacuum to waste out. But than I leave it filtering all the other debris. I tend to backwash every 2 hours.

My question in this. I left it filtering for 3-4 hours and went to a store. When I can back the water circulation was so low. So I back-washed filter, and it all cleaned up.

I worry that next time I want to leave filter on for 8 hours before back washing. Will I break my pump if it does dry because sand filter will get clogged?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: hayward sand filter

You should try and get most of the leaves and "debris" out by scooping first. I think people expect far too much from vacuuming crud. Welcome.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

Hello and welcome to TFP! Also, remember that when opening your pool for the first time after winter, often times you have to perform what we call a "SLAM" (link below). The one-time shocks you hear at the pool store are worthless. So make sure to read the SLAM page before you go to far. Since you are new to pools, I would also suggest reading the following:
    Pool School - Opening Your Winterized Above Ground Pool
    Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart
    Poolmath calculator