Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Testing Cell

  1. Back To Top    #1
    fordsbyjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    64

    Testing Cell

    Is there a way I can test my Aqua Rite T15 cell?

    Last week I had the pool close to balanced and I added some Haviland Stain Eliminator. After adding the stain eliminator the CL dropped to zero and on came the algae. I added bleach a couple of days ago to bring the CL back up. Yesterday I had the CL about 5 with my taylor test kit. This morning the CL is zero. The SWG panel shows voltage and current like the cell is working. It would be quite the coincidence for it to quit at the same time as adding the Stain Eliminator but non the less I would like to eliminate it from the equation.

    I have a TF100 kit but I am not sure about some of my test results so I ordered some new chemicals today. I took water samples to two different pool places and all three tests are no where near close.

    TF 100 ------ Local Place
    CL 5 (Taylor kit) ----- CL 0
    PH 7.5 ----- PH 7.3
    TA 50 ----- TA 109
    CH 160 ----- CH 241
    CYA (out of chem) ----- CYA 85



    19000 gallon inground fiberglass pool
    Hayward Pro Series Sand filter S244T 62 gal/min
    Whisper Flow WFE-2 / 011511 1/2 hspr pump
    Aqua Rite AQR Pro SWG, T15 cell for 25000 gal

  2. Back To Top    #2


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Testing Cell

    you can take it to leslie's, they can test the cell..

    As for the pool store results you way better off with the TF100
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    341

    Re: Testing Cell

    If your Taylor chem's are fresh, and you were careful, I'd take the Taylor numbers as correct. The pool people, IMO aren't dishonest, just careless and sloppy.

    Leslies does have a tester for Hayward cells, so that's a good bet. Have you tried to take water at the inflow and test it there?

    And lastly, try calling Hayward tech support. Sometimes the settings go astray. *

    As far as I know, Goldline and Aqua Rite are both Hayward brands.

    *last year a had a close lightening strike and I lost my cell type, and a couple of other things and tech support walked me through resetting them. (Circupool) It ran but didn't run right until they set me straight.
    SWG: CircuPool (May 2014) SI30+Plus; 3000ppm seems ideal;
    My Ideal Specs:
    FC 5; PH 7.4-7.6; TA 90; CH 350; CYA 75; = SI ~ 0.19
    14,000 gal, in ground, plaster, Cartridge filter, Borates
    TAYLOR K - 2006

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad YippeeSkippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    'burbs of Augusta, Georgia
    Posts
    6,482

    Re: Testing Cell

    Just wondering- Is the stain eliminator product you used an ascorbic acid like treatment?

    If so, AA residual can eat up chlorine until the AA is gone and then the chlorine will remain.
    My Amazon Smile for November12K Fiberglass IG, Infinity 4000 automatic cover, SWCG, Hayward Sand Filter, Hayward 1.5 Pump, Doheny Discovery Robot, Savi Melody LED pool lights, outdoor speakers and other assorted doo-dads. Sundance Altamar Hot Tub.
    Our pool build--> Our Pool Solved Our Sloping Yard Skippy's Cheap Pool Cooler -->Skippy's New Fountain

  5. Back To Top    #5
    fordsbyjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    64

    Re: Testing Cell

    Quote Originally Posted by YippeeSkippy View Post
    Just wondering- Is the stain eliminator product you used an ascorbic acid like treatment?

    If so, AA residual can eat up chlorine until the AA is gone and then the chlorine will remain.
    It does not say but I would assume so. I put in the recommended amount so I wonder how long it will take before the chlorine comes back.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Testing Cell

    If the voltage and amps are good and the salt reading is accurate, the cell is good and working.

    Your volts and amps are good. So, it's definitely making plenty of chlorine.

    If the salt reading is accurate, the cell is working at its full efficiency.

    What is your percentage set to? How long is your daily run time?

  7. Back To Top    #7
    fordsbyjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    64

    Re: Testing Cell

    I run it 14 hours/day (on a timer) and I had it set to 25%. This is typically enough depending on the CYA. I shut the timer off this morning and it is 24/7 till I get a handle on things.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •