Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Hayward H250 HELP

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Hayward H250 HELP

    I have a Hayward H250 Natural gas heater and I just replaced the bypass assembly to the newer model as the old one broke. I am now getting the LO code.

    * Filter is Clean
    * I have let the pump run for 2-3 minutes to reset the heater

    ** Only concern is maybe the red and blue wire going to the back of the water pressure switch. I can not find a picture.

    The heater worked before installing the new bypass kit but it would ping and make loud noises due to the broken bypass part.



    Any help would be great

    Daniel

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    Welcome to the forum.

    Do you have a question?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    Try this. Shut the pump off, power off the heater and remove the pressure switch, then with the pressure switch missing, turn the pump on, keep heater power off, and see if you have a steady strong stream of water coming out where the pressure switch was. If so, then reinstall the pressure switch and see if the unit will fire up. As for the wiring to the pressure switch, it can go either way and it doesn't matter.

    Are you sure you put the new bypass in place correctly? It really only fits one way properly but I've seen people somehow get it in backwards.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    I will try the troubleshooting steps and reply. As for the install of the bypass the black plastic part U shape goes down in the groove, thermostat goes underneath . I put the black wheel that connects to the rod with spring and tightened the screw down until the sprint seemed tight. FYI-- The heater was working before but never had a thermostat (it used to be a weekly rental house).


    - - - Updated - - -

    I wanted to verify the wiring on the pressure switch (red and blue wire connections). I also wanted to know if maybe any common installation issues when putting in the new bypass assembly that would create the LO code. Heater worked before installation but would ping and turn off due to the broken bypass plastic part.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    PS0303,

    I followed your instructions and yes a strong stream came out of the pressure switch hole. After screwing it back in and connecting back to the red/blue wires still same LO code. Should I adjust the dial on the Pressure switch ? I have a Hayward Multi Speed pump and running it at 3000 RPM.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    No you do not have to adjust the pressure switch at all.

    Do you have an automation system attached to this? If you do and the wiring is messed up, you will get a LO error message.

    What happens if you bypass the pressure switch with a jumper wire?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    How do I do this ? Should it be in the Manual ?

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    I updated my message. Do you have an automation system attached?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    I have the LCD on the Hayward H250IDL that shows Temp. Nothing else. Manual timer for pump power then LCD on pump motor for settings and RPM.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    Take the two wires that go to the pressure switch and jumper them together with a piece of wire and see if the units fires up. If it does then the pressure switch is bad. If it still shows LO then you have another issue.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    Ok, I took the red and blue and jumped them together. Power was completely off then turned back on. Still LO code. I am sure the Black Bypass insert and Thermal control valve are correct. Could it be the bypass valve not moving on the spring ?

    The old one was working but there was no Thermal control valve and the spring was broke. The Black bypass was repaired with epoxy and everything worked until that broke

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    If you jumpered the pressure switch and still have LO then you have another issue. Jumping out the switch bypasses it in the safety circuit thus if it's the problem allows the unit to fire up.

    On the inside of the unit on the front wall of the fire box are two limit switches. One has a small tab on it that you can push in. See if for some reason it is tripped and needs to be reset.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP





  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP





  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    Not seeing the tab just seeing the black button behind the lcd panel



  16. Back To Top    #16

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    What are you showing me in the first picture?? Just use a piece of wire between the two ends. Also, are you holding in that metal door switch when you are trying to fire the unit?

    This an old IDL model with a blower on it?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    First picture is just a black switch that looked like a reset button. Yes,The lcd will not power to turn it in until the door switch is pressed in. Yes this is a old natural gas unit.



  18. Back To Top    #18

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,436

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    OK so since this is the old IDL2 unit, here is a link to the manual. You could have a temp limit switch that is bad. Pages 38 and 39 of the manual talks about error codes.

    https://www.parts4heating.com/v/vspf...HSLowNOxID.pdf
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP

    Look right ? My logic is everything was working just the plastic part broke





  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Kissimmee
    Posts
    16

    Re: Hayward H250 HELP





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •