Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Calcium deposits? I think?

1. Back To Top    #1

Calcium deposits? I think?

Hello everyone. I am new to the pool world and have read every thread on this topic i can find.

My pool was closed for 3 years(bought a repo) and i have uncovered it to find it full of leaves. Leaves removed and water tested.

Here are the results of the water testing.

CYA 0
    Total Chlorine 1.1
    Free Chlorine 0.5
    Ph 7.5
    total Alkalinity 137
    total Hardness 313

No metals at all. I have a brownish and white film all over the liner. Worse in the corners and down the walls of the deep end but also all over the steps and shallow end too. the pool is a lazy L inground, vinyl liner, approx 20/40. 1st picture is on the stairs dried, second is the steps, and 3rd is the bottom of the shallow end. It looks like this almost all over the liner.

20160519_114447.jpg20160519_111954.jpg20160519_111940.jpg

Any and all help and comments would be greatly appreciated. I am not having any luck

Thanks so much,

Breh

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Calcium deposits? I think?

Those look like pool store test results. I wouldn't trust 'em.

You can test if it's Calcium on that first picture by putting a drop of acid on it and seeing of it fizzes.

The greenish stuff looks like organic staining. Could be algae embedded in scale, though.

If (big if) those readings are right, it means CC is .6. That's high. The water looks a little cloudy, too. I think if you started with a SLAM to clear the water up, it would also fade any organic stains. They might not disappear 100% but they'd get lighter. Completely bleaching them out takes weeks if not months.