Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Closing Advice

1. Back To Top    #1

Closing Advice

I know at this point in the season everyone is asking for pool opening advice. But i need closing advice. This year was horrible. When i took off the cover.. It was worse than the pond down the street.

Can you guys give me your number one piece of advice as to how to close the pool so I don't have a swamp when i open?? I have only owned the house for three years and while its been bad the past two seasons when I open... Its been nothing like this. Keep in mind... Im still learning.

What am I doing wrong when I close my pool for the season??

I went from this when I closed...

To this when I opened today....

16 x 32 In-Ground vinyl, 21,000 Gallons, Hayward Cartridge Filter, Hayward Tiger Shark robotic cleaner, Taylor K-2006 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Closing Advice

I am new to this but I opened crystal clear. About 20-24 oz algaecide 60 and brought FC to 8.
    Pool installed 8/2015. 30' round Radiant pool. 21,000 gallons. 200# sand. Hayward Vari flow XL valve. 1.5hp Hayward Power-Flo Matrix running 10 hours/day in two periods. TF100 with speed stir. Sun all day, south side of house
    Order test kit TF-100 w/ Speed Stir and then Poolmath Calculator --- RECOMMENDED LEVELS --- POOL SCHOOL --- Algae? --- Chlorine/CYA CHART.

3. Back To Top    #3

When do you close? Typically closing late after the water temp has dropped below 60 and opening early will make a difference. I also bring water up to slam level, let it drop, add Polyquat, and then added more bleach to slam level before closing. It was our first year opening our pool but we opened clear!

12,000 gallon Blue Hawaiian 'Hamilton' fiberglass IG 15x34 freeform, Pebble Beach finish, Pentair Clean & Clear 100 filter cartridge, Pentair SuperFlo 1.5HP pump, Stenner pump, Raypak 266k heater
    8/2015 pool build photos TFT-100 test kit

4. Back To Top    #4