Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Stain Removal Using Ascorbic Treatment - need Guidance

1. Back To Top    #1

Stain Removal Using Ascorbic Treatment - need Guidance

I'm all into the TFP method and am now ready to attack the stains on my vinyl liner. Could use some assistance.

1. I have sprinkled some vitamin C tablets in the shallow end and it appears to do a good job of removing the stain.
    2. I have read the post by "mbar" -- "Asorbic Treatment to rid Pool of metal stains" 2007 (Any updates in the last 10 years?)
    3. "polyquat 60"?? - I assume that is an Algaecide to overcome the low chloride. Any brand names? I have a SamsClub Algaecide 40 -- will that work? What brands are recommended?
    4. "Sequestering Agent" ?? - Again brand names or recommendations? Do I really need this? I looks like it it done after the Ascorbic Acid has done it's work. Can someone explain this.
    5. Re-balancing the chemistry appears to be the difficult part. Getting TA, PH, and Chlorine back to normal looks somewhat intimidating..

Thanks in advance for your help. Any suggestions are welcome.

Current Chemistry.
    FC - 3.0
    CC - 0
    PH 7.5
    TA - 50
    CH - 40
    CYA - 30
    25,000 gallon in-ground pool - Vinyl Lining
    Hayward Pro Series S244T Sand filter -- 300 lb Sand
    Taylor K-2006 Test Kit
    Hayward Pump - runs 24x7

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Stain Removal Using Ascorbic Treatment - need Guidance

When I had stains, I put vitamin C tablets in a sock and manually brushed the stains off. They were mostly on the sides near the water level.
    SLAM * Chlorine/CYA Chart * Pool Math * Pool School
    17.5k gal IG Fiberglass, Triton II TR60 Sand Filter, Jacuzzi Magum Force Pump 1.5 hp, 3/4 hp booster, Polaris 280, TF-100 Test Kit with Speed Stir

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by WalterE View Post