Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    13

    Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    I ordered a 16' x 48" Coleman Pool at Walmart. I'm really excited but I'm concerned about installing the pool over cement. Cements not really the most comfortable when you're walking around barefoot. I get that the pool comes with a tarp and the pool liner help a bit but I'm sure it's not much. I've done some research and a lot of people recommend buying foam boards to give you a nice, smooth cushion to walk on. You just have to tape the boards together really well or else the pool will shift. I was wondering though, has anyone or would anyone recommend using interlocking foam mats instead? I understand this method is more expensive but I feel like the mats are designed to be on the ground in the first place. They lock in place so no tape would be needed and it would be a lot easier to store the mats than 4 feet by 8 feet boards. What do you guys think?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    Sounds like a good idea to me ... I know I picked some up from Costco that seemed reasonably priced
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    For my first year I put a 12 foot x 36" pool on a concrete slab. I used a piece of carpet padding (that light green stuff with blue and red foam bits in it) under it, trimming it to the shape. It worked fine. The squares will work also. You may see the pattern of the squares through the liner, but no biggee.
    12' x 36" Intex AGP on a raised concrete slab under a ramada in sunny Arizona. Borated, balanced, and beautiful blue.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Piolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    604

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement



    I did it and no regrets...
    8,400 gal Intex, 3K GPH pump, 16" sand filter, SWG CG-28669, TF100 test kit, speed stir, K-1766 Taylor salt test.

    The corner stone of TFP
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    You may want to use duct tape to prevent the pool bottom from picking up the seams in the mat.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    I do not recommend duct tape which is not waterproof. Better to use tape like used on house weather wrap, like Tyvek.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    I do not recommend duct tape which is not waterproof. Better to use tape like used on house weather wrap, like Tyvek.
    Regardless the seams should be taped.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Los angeles
    Posts
    2

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    I have a 16' Intex and bought interlocking mats from Harbor Freight to put under the liner. I have had the pool up for a year and they have really worked out great. I would definitely recommend them!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    13

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    That looks clean. The more I think about it, I'm probably going with the foam boards over the foam mats. It'll be less expensive and I'm sure I can figure out a way to store the foam boards during the offseason. I do have a question though. Do you also tape the boards together on the bottom as well or just tape them from the top?

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    They only needed taped on the top to hold them together.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    13

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    They only needed taped on the top to hold them together.
    Nice. What thickness would you recommend? 1/2 inch? 3/4 inch? 1 inch?

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    I have no idea, never had a pool like that.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Wantagh, NY
    Posts
    27

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    I've used the interlocking foam mats for 6 years now. No issues. Got them at BJ's.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Piolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    604

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Quote Originally Posted by Sour Shoes View Post
    That looks clean. The more I think about it, I'm probably going with the foam boards over the foam mats. It'll be less expensive and I'm sure I can figure out a way to store the foam boards during the offseason. I do have a question though. Do you also tape the boards together on the bottom as well or just tape them from the top?
    Only on top, but 3 times, one in the center and one each at the sides...
    8,400 gal Intex, 3K GPH pump, 16" sand filter, SWG CG-28669, TF100 test kit, speed stir, K-1766 Taylor salt test.

    The corner stone of TFP
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    13

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Quote Originally Posted by Piolin View Post
    Only on top, but 3 times, one in the center and one each at the sides...
    How thick are your foam boards?

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Piolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    604

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Quote Originally Posted by Sour Shoes View Post
    How thick are your foam boards?
    2 inch, but I think is a little overkill... 😊

    It was what was available at my local HD

    Plan according to the thickness of the boards that you should place at the base of the pool legs...
    8,400 gal Intex, 3K GPH pump, 16" sand filter, SWG CG-28669, TF100 test kit, speed stir, K-1766 Taylor salt test.

    The corner stone of TFP
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Jonas Åhgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    144

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    I think these are nice.



    Jonas Åhgren Lives in Stockholm (Sweden)

    Intex saltwater 24ft X 12ft X 52in Ultra Frame Pool mounted in a wooden frame and deck

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    13

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Quote Originally Posted by Piolin View Post
    2 inch, but I think is a little overkill... 😊

    It was what was available at my local HD

    Plan according to the thickness of the boards that you should place at the base of the pool legs...
    I read in other threads that the pool support legs can rest on the foam boards. Is this how have yours done? If not, what would you recommend the support legs to rest on?

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Piolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    604

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    Yes, but the foam receded a little all around, so not really a problem but I wish I will put some support on the legs.. If a have to do it again
    8,400 gal Intex, 3K GPH pump, 16" sand filter, SWG CG-28669, TF100 test kit, speed stir, K-1766 Taylor salt test.

    The corner stone of TFP
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Piolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    604

    Re: Question about installing a Coleman Pool on cement

    If I have to do it again I will cut the foam were the legs stand and place a strong wood board or metal plate the same thickness than the foam is
    8,400 gal Intex, 3K GPH pump, 16" sand filter, SWG CG-28669, TF100 test kit, speed stir, K-1766 Taylor salt test.

    The corner stone of TFP
    Pool School - Chlorine / CYA Chart

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •