My FIRST test results and understanding CYA...(first post)

TF Tim

Silver Supporter
May 9, 2016
Massachusetts
Hey everyone. I have been lurking on the forums for a couple weeks now and reading, reading, reading, but feel ready for my first post. I received my TF-100 test kit yesterday and did my first real testing this morning!

I am new to a 30,000 gallon (18x40') in ground gunite pool (more specs in my sig). Here is what I have done so far with a couple questions at the bottom:

Day one:
Opened the pool with a help of a 'friend' in the industry. Everything turned on great (except the Heat Pump which is another story). The pool was green with algae and couldn't see 1' down. Added DE to the filter but then switched the multi-valve on recirculate and shocked the pool (with powder from Home depot...). Was told to let the shock kill the algae without letting it get into the filtration alive.

Day two:
Got up the next morning and the dark green was now white and cloudy - just what I was told to expect. Seems like a good start. Added DE to my filter and let it run. Brushed the edges and bottom and let it sit. spent hours reading this site, decided to disregard most other advice from my local pool guy friend, and ordered the TF-100 test kit (and the magnetic stirrer).

Day three:
Still a little cloudy, but looking much better. Pulled the filter. Washed it gently with a hose. Re-added DE and then brushed the entire pool again (kicking up much less cloudiness). Later in the day figured out the vacuum and vacuumed to filter. Then figured out the polaris and let that guy run around a bit too.

Day four:
Woke up to a pool that one might call clear. Definitely progress. Filter pressure has been starting at 20psi and running to 28-30 within several hours. Backwashed and re-added DE - pressure is still on high side.