Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: cloudy water not clearing during slam

1. Back To Top    #1

cloudy water not clearing during slam

Hello all. Newbie here. We are on our 3rd week of the slam and my water has gotten blue but it is not clearing. We do have a sand filter and I know that they are slower to clear. The water hasn't really changed any since Monday. I take a pic every afternoon to compare. Filter running 24/7 backwashing when it increases 25%. Scrub twice a day. Checking levels 4-6 times per day.

ph was 7.4 when we started. I haven't rechecked
    TA 100
    CYA 40
    FC 15 (added 2 c bleach to reach 16)

We were gone for a couple of days last week and used pucks in the skimmer. They were removed when we returned and slam started again after rechecking our CYA.

Just wanted to make sure we weren't missing something.
    21k vinyl IG grecian, hayward S244S sand filter, hayward power-flo LX 1.5 HP Pump, 10+ years? (came with house), taylor k-2006 test kit, aquabot optima cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: cloudy water not clearing during slam

Have you tried an OCLT to see where you are?
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Have you Deep Cleaned your Sand Filter ever?

If you are passing the OCLT and have checked/cleaned the sand, you could try to Add DE to your Sand Filter
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4