Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please explain "sparkling"

1. Back To Top    #1

Please explain "sparkling"

Ok, I'm an engineer...

Can someone explain what is meant by "sparkling" water?

I understand water clarity. It can easily be measured. Does "sparkling" mean "apparently perfect" clarity?

Or is this referring to reflections that occur on water ripples when the sun is shining?

If it's the latter, how/why does "sparkling" depend on water chemistry?

Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Please explain "sparkling"

Refraction and reflection of sunlight. When the water is properly balanced and extremely clear, it will sparkle. Think of a very clear diamond vs. an occluded gem.

Between the look and smell of the pool water, I can tell if everything is in balance without testing.

And yes, I still test.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Does pH affect the look of the water? I thought I read that somewhere.
    -Paul
    15k gallon IG plaster, 26x39 at widest points, sort of shaped like the great state of Texas!
    B2854 Pentair Challenger 1.5 HP single speed motor
    Tagelus TA-60 Sand Filter, Polaris 280, TF-100

4. Back To Top    #4

I still want a "like" button. Well said RobbieH!
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

5. Back To Top    #5

Here is my pool sparkling:

SLAM * Chlorine/CYA Chart * Pool Math * Pool School
    17.5k gal IG Fiberglass, Triton II TR60 Sand Filter, Jacuzzi Magum Force Pump 1.5 hp, 3/4 hp booster, Polaris 280, TF-100 Test Kit with Speed Stir