Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What naturally (not which chemicals) lowers pH???

1. Back To Top    #1

What naturally (not which chemicals) lowers pH???

So, I am new to the TFP method, and loving it. Before finding this site, I was using only DiChlor in my pool. That took my CYA out of control (which is what brought me here), but also always kept my pH low. I was always buying tons of pH up, and always seemed to have a low pH, no matter what I did. So, I know that will end this year. Now, using the TPF method, I will be adding bleach, and not lowering pH with my DiChlor. So, on to my question.

I know that aeriation (splashing, return jets rippling water, etc) will increase my pH. I also know that acid will bring my pH down, as well as rain water, since rain is acidic. But, will any other NATURAL occurrence lower my pH?? From what I see, it looks like I will never need to add something to bring my pH up again, and should be keeping plenty of acid on hand going forward with the TFP method.

Am I missing something here? It would seem after opening, and once I achieve proper balance, I will only be lowering pH, unless we get tons of rain dumped in the pool.
    Bruce - (The SmartJack was an invention of mine, and became my nickname)
    Fox Pool 40x27 IG Vinyl, Lagoon Shape, 27,000 gallons, Hayward 300,000 BTU heater
    Hayward 1.5 HP, 2-Speed SuperPump, with Hayward C4025 Cartridge Filter
    Polaris C-310 ORP Controller, modified to pump Liquid Chlorine
    Hayward Phantom, and Aquabot Turbo T-Jet automatic pool cleaners, Taylor K-2006

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: What naturally (not which chemicals) lowers pH???

If you're worried about toxicology, Muriatic Acid (AKA Hydrochloric Acid) is about as simple a chemical as you can get. One hydrogen atom, one chlorine atom. Both of those atoms are in your pool anyway...