Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New pool Owner Pool Chemistry Question

1. Back To Top    #1

Cool New pool Owner Pool Chemistry Question

Hi all,

I am new to pool ownership and maintenance and I have a question regarding adding muriatic acid to lower pH and alkalinity. The TA was very high (over 200) and the pH was over 8 when I began. I have been adding muriatic acid in small doses, and there has been a reduction in my levels, however I seem to have run into a stagnant measurement. I cant get the pH lower than 7.6 and the TA is still about 180ppm. I have added nearly 3 gallons of muriatic acid so far and I am concerned about adding too much. Any suggestions? Thanks for your help

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New pool Owner Pool Chemistry Question

Hi, welcome to TFP! Is the pH still trying to climb? If pH has stabilized at 7.6 with a TA of 180 it will not harm anything to let TA stay at that level.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

I think you may be right about the pH stabilizing. Its been 7.6 for a few days now and my acidity demand test keeps indicating that I need to add more muriatic acid. (about a quart for my size pool) I want to add CYA as its getting hot and sunny here in NV but I was hoping for the alkalinity to be better. Should I go ahead and add the CYA anyway? Thanks for your response.

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by eyedoc89 View Post
    Hi all,