Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Phosphate Levels Matter

1. Back To Top    #1

In the Industry

Phosphate Levels Matter

Split by moderator from HERE to longer hijack the original thread with this tangent. jblizzle

I do this for a living I know how it works. I install about 50 a year.

It is not calculated from the performance of the cell for number 1. It has a built in tester.

The tester is made to run low so the lights come on showing a problem but it has been known for it to run fine and read salt fine but the cell is still bad. (Not generating chlorine)

Phosphates can also cease a salt water pool from generating chlorine

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Salt water cell probs

Quote Originally Posted by Reflectionspoolguy View Post
    Phosphates can also cease a salt water pool from generating chlorine
    To quote you: "This is completely incorrect"

Phosphates will not prevent a SWG from generating chlorine. In fact, TFP believes (based on science) that phosphates levels are near meaningless in pools. If you maintain adequate FC levels (which you know is a function of your CYA level, right?) then algae can NOT grow and thus the phosphate levels do not matter.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Phosphates feed off of algea, the phosphates also eat the chlorine. You can put 20 pounds of shock in and if the phosphates are high enough it will be gone in a day

4. Back To Top    #4

In the Industry

Being yes if your salt cell can generate upward of 6lbs a day yeah they don't matter. But it also puts more stress on your cell making it burn out faster

5. Back To Top    #5