First opening

Aug 4, 2015
LAWRENCEBURG, IN
Hi guys. This is my first year opening the pool after I had the company that put the liner in new last year do it. Well, I have a very green swamp. Pool is at fill level now and here is what I got with my test:
PH 8.2
Alk 170
Calcium 100

What should be my first step of getting this cleaned up. My new pump arrives Monday, so I haven't started anything yet. I have 4 gallons of liquid shock (10%) and a bottle of algae control 60. Thanks for the help!

Tough without a pump to circulate. :( But when you get the pump hooked-up, the pH would be first as it's currently high. Do not use the algae control. I suspect you will need more bleach for a SLAM that could take a week or more. You should also test your CYA now just to get an idea. If it's zero or below 30, buy some granular stabilizer and have it ready, but don't add it yet. Once the water can circulate for about an hour, test everything once more to confirm and let us know.

Trouble priming you mean - filling-up the pump strainer basket? Make sure the basket is full of water first then secure lid before turning-on. Check pool water level and ensure the skimmer flap (weir) is not stuck shut. All valves are open.

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
If all you did was slip a new motor up against that existing wet-end, and the motor itself is cranking-up fine, then we have to review the basics:
- Motor, seal plate, etc firmly attached, no chance of incorrect configuration of impeller or diffuser or leak?
- Suction side air leaks all ruled-out?
- Distance from pool to pump? Some pumps allow up to 5 mins +/- to pull water a substantial length/grade
- No obstructions on the pressure side preventing the pump from pull/pushing water?
Those are some brainstorming ideas that popped into mind.