Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First opening

1. Back To Top    #1

First opening

Hi guys. This is my first year opening the pool after I had the company that put the liner in new last year do it. Well, I have a very green swamp. Pool is at fill level now and here is what I got with my test:
    PH 8.2
    Alk 170
    Calcium 100

What should be my first step of getting this cleaned up. My new pump arrives Monday, so I haven't started anything yet. I have 4 gallons of liquid shock (10%) and a bottle of algae control 60. Thanks for the help!
    21000 gal.
    Vinyl liner- new spring 2015
    Purex Triton Tagelus sand filter
    Hayward 1hp pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First opening

Tough without a pump to circulate. But when you get the pump hooked-up, the pH would be first as it's currently high. Do not use the algae control. I suspect you will need more bleach for a SLAM that could take a week or more. You should also test your CYA now just to get an idea. If it's zero or below 30, buy some granular stabilizer and have it ready, but don't add it yet. Once the water can circulate for about an hour, test everything once more to confirm and let us know.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Yes, my CYA was 0. I figured I was going to need more bleach 😔

4. Back To Top    #4

ha ha. Yes... more bleach. Once your pump is hooked-up, we may even have you do the 10-min ammonia drill just to be safe. Depends on your first readings after circulating. We should know for sure Monday evening.