Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can't keep chlorine levels up

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Parrish, FL
    Posts
    3

    Angry Can't keep chlorine levels up

    We have had problems keeping our chlorine levels right for the last few weeks. We took a sample of our pool water to a company, 4-25-16. Total Chlorine level was 3.0 ppm, Free Chlorine, 3.0, total Alkalinity was 155, Stabilizer 150. Total Dissolved solids 3,200
    We were told to add 3.5 qts of Muriatic Acid.

    4-26 testing
    total chlorine 0.0
    free chlorine 0.0
    ph 7.0
    basic demand 6
    Total Alkalinity 60
    Stabilizer 120
    T Solids 3,400

    Tested phosphates this time, 2,000

    Add phosphate remover 17.1 oz
    add alkalinity increaser 4.5 lbs
    Add Liquid chlorine 3.2 gal

    4-28

    T. Chlorine 0
    Free Chlorine 0
    ph 7.2
    Total Alkalinity 75
    Stabilizer 120
    T. dissolved solids 3,800
    Phosphates 800

    Add total Alkalinity increaser 2.8 lbs

    add Liquid chlorine 3.2 gal

    Phosphate remover 7.7 oz


    5-6

    T chlorine 0
    Free Chlorine 0
    PH 7.4

    T Alkalinity 120
    Calcium Hardness 225

    Stabilizer 115
    T dissolved Solids 2500

    Add liquid Chlorine 3.2 gal

    Add Phosphate remover 21.3 oz

    As you can see, we are going round and round, nothing is getting us where our pool should be.

    Please help
    Thank you

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    First, realize we do not trust pool store testing. So if you want to take control, the next step is to invest in one of the Recommended Test Kits and stop getting advice from the pool store.

    Forget about phosphates.
    There is no need to raise your TA.

    Your problem is lack of chlorine (FC) and thus there is likely something in the water consuming it. Teh required FC level is a function of the stabilizer (CYA) level according to the FC/CYA Chart.

    Your CYA is way too high, so you likely need to replace at least half the water (after confirming with the recommended test kit), and then follow the ShockLevelAndMAINTAIN Process to eradicate whatever is in the water consuming your chlorine.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    Welcome to TFP!

    What a merry go round! And all stuff you don't need and isn't helping. As you have found out the hard way. We call that being Pool Stored. Get Taylor K-2006C test kit or a TF-100 from TFTestkits.net and take control of your pool and get off the expensive pool store merry go round.

    Start here to see how we take care of our pools, Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

    And tell us more about your pool by updating your signature as shown here, Pool School - Read This Before You Post
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    Welcome!
    A few things
    1. We don't trust pool store testing
    2. If the test results are accurate, you have too much Cyanuric Acid aka stabilizer
    3. Even if the stabilizer was perfect, you still need to feed the pool every day
    4. Phosphates are immaterial if you maintain adequate chlorine every day


    How have you been chlorinating? Things like Calcium and CYA are generally set-it-and-forget-it. pH may require adjustments every week. TA slightly less often. Chlorine, though, is a consumable item. It needs to be added daily. Have you been adding chlorine every day, or trusting in pucks? If you've been feeding the pool a steady diet of pucks, that's what drove the stabilizer so high. The problem is that you need to maintain a certain ratio of CYA to Free Chlorine to keep things sanitary and kill any algae. But Chlorine dissipates in sunlight and through oxidizing the nasty stuff. So you add more. But you also add more CYA if you're using pucks. So you need even more FC. Which raises CYA. It's an endless spiral and eventually, you go too long with too low FC and algae gets started, and at that point, any chlorine you add gets eaten up almost instantly.

    If you're pool isn't green yet, it will be soon. The only thing stalling it now is the lack of phosphates. Some blown in dirt and some pollen and twigs and it's all over.

    So, the questions...

    Are you ready to ditch the pool store?
    Are you ready to invest in a proper test kit?
    Are you prepared to give your pool two minutes a day for testing and dosing (after this current mess is cleaned up)?
    If your own test results confirm the high CYA, are you up to draining over half the pool water and replacing it and starting over?

    If you're ready, we can help.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    txnole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Amelia Island, FL
    Posts
    543

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    You're going to save a ton of money and a lot of time by getting an accurate test kit. It's like night and day.
    COMPLETED BUILD THREAD - 15'x29' rectangular offset shotcrete pool; 14,100 gal; 5'x7' raised spa with 400k btu fire feature; 7' spillover; 25' leuder stone raised bond wall w/waterfall; Pentair SWG; Pentair VS (pool); Pentair 3/4hp feature pump; 1hp spa blower; Pentair Cartridge filter; Pentair “Easy Touch 8” wireless; Dolphin Oasis Z5 robot; Solar Hydronics iSwim solar panels; Mansard Screen Enclosure; walnut travertine deck; 1 very happy kiddo.

  6. Back To Top    #6


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    Welcome to TFP, we can get you going Is this something you want to do ?
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Parrish, FL
    Posts
    3

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    Thank you for your reply and great information.
    When all this started we were told to take the pucks out of the automatic feeder, which we did. We have been adding liquid chlorine every day, at the rate of 2 gallons a day.

    The last pool we had was In California, dozens of years ago, I never had so much trouble with chemicals getting out of whack. We live in Florida now and the pool is covered with a screened cage, you would think that would keep a lot of "junk" from getting in the pool.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    txnole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Amelia Island, FL
    Posts
    543

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    Did you get a new test kit? We need to confirm your results to offer suggestions.
    COMPLETED BUILD THREAD - 15'x29' rectangular offset shotcrete pool; 14,100 gal; 5'x7' raised spa with 400k btu fire feature; 7' spillover; 25' leuder stone raised bond wall w/waterfall; Pentair SWG; Pentair VS (pool); Pentair 3/4hp feature pump; 1hp spa blower; Pentair Cartridge filter; Pentair “Easy Touch 8” wireless; Dolphin Oasis Z5 robot; Solar Hydronics iSwim solar panels; Mansard Screen Enclosure; walnut travertine deck; 1 very happy kiddo.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Parrish, FL
    Posts
    3

    Re: Can't keep chlorine levels up

    No, not yet, we did start using test strips and the regular testing, just to try and compare the readings

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •